{"buttonLabel":"Apply Now","productCollection":"online_brokerages","productId":"4","productLink":"https:\/\/www.schwab.com.hk\/","productName":"Charles Schwab"}
{"buttonLabel":"Apply Now","productCollection":"online_brokerages","productId":"4","productImage":"referral_logos\/hk\/online_brokerages\/schwab-1","productLink":"https:\/\/www.schwab.com.hk\/","productName":"Charles Schwab"}

Charles Schwab Hong Kong U.S. Dollar Account: The Best Brokerage Account for US Stocks?

Charles Schwab Hong Kong U.S. Dollar Account: The Best Brokerage Account for US Stocks?

The Charles Schwab Hong Kong U.S Dollar Account offers great access to US stocks, ETFs, bonds, Fixed income, and American depositary receipts (ADRs) with very low fees. It also provides educational resources tailored to international investors and a dedicated relationship with a Financial Consultant. This brokerage account is less accessible than others due to the US$25,000 (roughly HK$193,800) minimum deposit to open an account, but it’s still a competitive choice for investing in American financial markets.

Summary of Charles Schwab Brokerage Account
No commission fees or platform fees for US stocks and ETFs
Excellent educational resources and consulting services
Security Guarantee covers 100% of any losses due to unauthorized activity
Promotions:
  • Not currently offering promotions

Table of Contents

What Makes the Charles Schwab Brokerage Account Stand Out to Investors

The Charles Schwab Brokerage Account has no commissions, platform fees, or transaction fees for trading US stocks. By comparison, most brokerage accounts in Hong Kong charge several dollars per transaction, significantly impacting your return on investment over time. For example, the Valuable Capital Brokerage Account charges a minimum of US$0.99 per transaction, which means you would have at least an extra dollar to invest with every trade using a Schwab account.

Schwab offers educational resources specifically tailored to international investors to inform them about trading in US markets. Investors can also take advantage of Schwab’s StreetSmart Edge platform, which allows you to easily check your investments, track key balances, find and analyse opportunities and more. The platform is customisable to match your preferences and offers a commercial-free live stream of the CNBC broadcast right on your desktop.

Finally, account holders can work with a dedicated financial consultant and develop an investing strategy at no charge. The Schwab Security Guarantee also refunds 100% of losses incurred due to unauthorized activity on your account.

The Schwab account’s drawbacks are its US$25,000 minimum deposit to open an account and its lack of access to markets outside of the US. However, wealthier investors looking for excellent investing tools and resources should consider a Schwab brokerage account for US investing.

Investment Opportunities with a Schwab Account

Charles Schwab brokerage account holders can trade a variety of US financial products, including:

  • Stocks
  • Bonds
  • Exchange-traded Funds (ETFs)
  • Fixed Income
  • American depositary receipts (ADRs)
Unlike other brokerages in Hong Kong, the Schwab brokerage account doesn’t offer access to HK stocks and A-Shares. Consumers looking to trade US and Hong Kong financial products with one account should consider SoFi Hong Kong. Other firms like Saxo Markets offer financial products from 36 exchanges worldwide, but the costs of commissions and fees for trading US stocks with Saxo Markets are significantly higher than with a Schwab account.

Charles Schwab Brokerage Account Fees

Charles Schwab is committed to a transparent fee and commissions model and its costs for trading US stocks are very competitive. Investors pay no commissions or fees for trading US stocks and ETFs, except if they place a trade through a broker or make special large block transactions that require special handling.

Passively managed Schwab ETFs have Operating Expense Ratios of as low as 0.03% to 0.13% depending on the product. Investors can also consider becoming a Schwab Private Client and receive dedicated financial advice from a portfolio manager starting at 0.80% annually.


Market/Product
Min. CommissionIndustry Average Min. Commission

USUS$0US$0.65-US$8
Hong KongN/AHK$3-HK$40
A-SharesN/AN/A

Charles Schwab Brokerage Account Eligibility Requirements: How do I Apply?

Consider this if you want seamless access to US stocks and ETFs

The Charles Schwab brokerage account is more difficult to apply for than other brokerages that allow you to simply apply through an app. To apply for a Schwab account you must download and fill out the application and other forms on the official website and mail or deliver it in person to the Charles Schwab offices in Hong Kong.

You must also fill out the "U.S. Internal Revenue Service Form W-8BEN" to prove your status as a non-US citizen and be exempted from taxes. The last form is the "Hong Kong Charles Schwab Common Reporting Standards Personal Self-Certification Form" which provides account information to Hong Kong tax authorities.

Documents required to open an account include:

  • Original Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card / Original Hong Kong Identity Card / Original Passport
  • Utility bills for the past 3 months (gas, electricity, water)

Conclusion

The Charles Schwab Hong Kong U.S. Dollar Account is a good choice for investors looking to invest a significant amount of money in American markets with minimal commissions and fees. If you want to invest in A-Shares or in the Hong Kong stock exchange, you should consider Hong Kong brokerage account with access to more markets. However, the Schwab account’s innovative trading platform, educational resources, and free consulting services make it a competitive choice for trading US stocks and ETFs.

How Does Charles Schwab Brokerage Account Compare Against Other Brokerage Accounts?

Read our comparisons of the Charles Schwab brokerage account with other brokerage accounts in Hong Kong and determine the best for you.

Charles Schwab Brokerage Account v. SoFi Hong Kong
  • Min. Commission Fee Hong Kong Stocks: HK$0
  • Min. Commission Fee US Stocks: US$0
  • Min. Commission Fee A-Shares: N/A
SoFi Hong Kong is a good choice for investors looking to trade US and Hong Kong stocks and ETFs with low fees. Like the Schwab account, it has no commissions or platform fees, but it also has no minimum initial deposit aside from the government-mandated HK$10,000 from a registered bank account. SoFi Hong Kong is one of the best accessible brokerage accounts for investing in US and Hong Kong stocks.
Charles Schwab Brokerage Account v. Saxo Markets Brokerage Account
  • Min. Commission Fee Hong Kong Stocks: 0.08% (HK$40)
  • Min. Commission Fee US Stocks: US$0.10 (US$10)
  • Min. Commission Fee A-Shares: 0.08% (CN¥15)
  • Note: Commissions listed are for Classic Account.
Saxo Markets stands out for its extensive range of financial products and broad market access. Consumers can invest in more than 40,000 financial products (including bonds, mutual funds, forex, commodities, futures, options and more) across 36 exchanges worldwide. VIP customers can also enjoy excellent customer service features including a dedicated sales trader and priority customer support.


This wide range of products and services comes at a significantly higher price than many other brokers. The Classic membership has a US$2,000 initial minimum deposit and a high US$10 minimum commission per US trade. Saxo Markets offers unbeatable market access to expert investors, but regular consumers looking for affordable US stocks and ETFs would be better off with a Schwab brokerage account.

Charles Schwab Brokerage Account v. SoFi Hong Kong
  • Min. Commission Fee Hong Kong Stocks: N/A
  • Min. Commission Fee US Stocks: US$0
  • Min. Commission Fee A-Shares: N/A
SoFi Hong Kong is a good choice for investors looking to trade US and Hong Kong stocks and ETFs with low fees. Like the Schwab account, it has no commissions or platform fees, but it also has no minimum initial deposit aside from the government-mandated HK$10,000 from a registered bank account. SoFi Hong Kong is one of the best accessible brokerage accounts for investing in US and Hong Kong stocks.
Charles Schwab Brokerage Account v. Saxo Markets Brokerage Account
  • Min. Commission Fee Hong Kong Stocks: 0.08% (HK$40)
  • Min. Commission Fee US Stocks: US$0.10 (US$10)
  • Min. Commission Fee A-Shares: 0.08% (CN¥15)
  • Note: Commissions listed are for Classic Account.
Saxo Markets stands out for its extensive range of financial products and broad market access. Consumers can invest in more than 40,000 financial products (including bonds, mutual funds, forex, commodities, futures, options and more) across 36 exchanges worldwide. VIP customers can also enjoy excellent customer service features including a dedicated sales trader and priority customer support.


This wide range of products and services comes at a significantly higher price than many other brokers. The Classic membership has a US$2,000 initial minimum deposit and a high US$10 minimum commission per US trade. Saxo Markets offers unbeatable market access to expert investors, but regular consumers looking for affordable US stocks and ETFs would be better off with a Schwab brokerage account.

Kevin Schwartz

Kevin is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion specialising in credit cards in Hong Kong. He previously worked for the U.S. Congress as a Legislative Fellow as well as in international education in Beijing. He holds a B.A. in International Studies and Chinese from the College of the Holy Cross and received multiple scholarships for Chinese language studies, including the State Department Critical Language Scholarship.

Charles Schwab嘉信理財美元賬戶:最佳美股戶口?

Charles Schwab嘉信理財美元賬戶:最佳美股戶口?

具競爭力的美股投資戶口,佣金全免

較適合

  • 希望無憂投資美股及交易所買賣基金的投資者
  • 希望獲得美市交易相關教學資源的人士

較不適合

  • 無法負擔高額開戶所需資金 (US$25,000)的人士
  • 希望用一個戶口投資多個市場的消費者

Editor's Rating

3.5/5.0

香港嘉信理財美元賬戶為消費者提供美股、交易所買賣基金 (ETF)、債券、固定收益及美國存託憑證 (ADR) 等廣泛的投資服務,費用極低,更為國際市場投資者提供量身訂製的教學資源及專屬理財顧問。嘉信投資賬戶設有US$25,000(約HK$193,800)的最低開戶存款額,門檻較同類產品更高。不過,對於有意投資美市的投資者而言,仍是一個絕佳選擇。

嘉信投資賬戶一覽
豁免美股及交易所買賣基金交易佣金及平台費
絕佳的教學資源及咨詢服務
提供安全保障,對未經授權的交易活動產生的損失賠償100%
優惠:
  • Not currently offering promotions

目錄

嘉信投資賬戶的過人之處

透過嘉信理財投資賬戶投資美股,佣金、交易平台費及交易費全免。相較之下,香港多數股票戶口都要收取每筆交易數美金的交易費用,長遠來看,會對閣下的投資收益帶來較大的影響。譬如,華盛證券戶口對每筆交易收取最低收費US$0.99。這意味著,透過嘉信理財投資賬戶進行的每筆交易都能為閣下慳至少一美金。

嘉信理財為國際投資者提供量身訂製的教學資源,令投資者可及時了解美市的交易情況。用家更可利用嘉信理財的StreetSmart Edge平台,輕鬆檢視現有投資、追蹤結餘情況、找尋及分析投資機會等。閣下可根據偏好自訂平台內容,更可坐享平台的CNBC無廣告直播內容。

最後,戶口持有人可獲得專屬理財顧問的協助,毋須付費即可獲取個人化投資策略。嘉信理財更提供安全保障,對於未經授權的交易活動造成的損失提供100%賠償。

嘉信理財投資賬戶的缺點是設有較高的最低開戶存款額(高達US$25,000),且無法投資美國以外的交易市場。不過,資金充裕的投資者若想獲取優質投資工具及資源,不妨考慮用嘉信理財投資賬戶來投資美市。

嘉信投資賬戶的投資機會

嘉信投資賬戶用家可交易多種美國金融產品,包括:

  • 股票
  • 債券
  • 交易所買賣基金 (ETF)
  • 固定收益
  • 美國存託憑證 (ADR)
不同於香港其他戶口,嘉信投資賬戶並不支援港股及A股交易。消費者若希望使用同一個戶口交易美國及香港的金融產品,可以考慮使用SoFi Hong Kong。盛寶金融等其他戶口提供全球36間交易所的金融產品之買賣服務,不過其美股交易佣金及費用均遠高於嘉信理財。

嘉信投資賬戶的費用

嘉信理財致力構建透明的收費及佣金模型,其美股交易費用亦相當實惠。投資者買賣美股和交易所買賣基金,毋須支付任何佣金或費用(透過經紀人完成交易,或特殊大宗交易除外)。

基於不同產品,嘉信理財的交易所買賣基金自動管理服務會收取低至0.03%至 0.13%之操作費率。投資者亦可以考慮成為嘉信理財的私人專業理財客戶,以每年0.80%的費率獲取投資組合經理的獨家理財建議。


市場/產品
最低佣金行業平均最低佣金

美國US$0US$0.65-US$8
香港N/AHK$3-HK$40
A股N/AN/A

嘉信投資賬戶申請資格:如何申請?

Consider this if 閣下希望輕鬆交易美股及交易所買賣基金

嘉信投資賬戶申請難度比其它戶口更大,無法透過應用程式直接完成。若要申請嘉信投資賬戶,閣下須從官方網站下載申請表及其他表格,填寫完整,並郵寄或親身送達嘉信理財的香港辦公室。

閣下亦必須填寫「美國國稅局W-8BEN表格」,證明閣下並非美國公民,以獲得免稅資格。最後一份是「香港嘉信理財共同申報準則自我證明表格」,授權香港稅務機關獲取戶口資料。

開立戶口需要提供的文件包括:

  • 香港永久性居民身份證正本 / 香港身份證正本 / 護照正本
  • 最近3個月的公用事業賬單(天然氣、電、水)

結論

如果投資者計劃落重本投資美市、並希望盡量降低佣金及費用成本,香港嘉信理財美元賬戶是一個不錯的選擇。若閣下想投資A股或港股,建議考慮交易市場範圍更廣的港股戶口。不過,憑藉創新的交易平台、豐富的教學資源及免費咨詢服務,嘉信理財可稱得上是優越的美股及交易所買賣基金交易選擇。

嘉信投資賬戶與其他股票戶口之比較

參閱嘉信投資賬戶與本港其他股票戶口的比較分析,挑選最適合閣下的一款。

嘉信投資賬戶 vs. SoFi Hong Kong戶口
  • 最低港股佣金:HK$0
  • 最低美股佣金:US$0
  • 最低A股佣金:N/A
SoFi Hong Kong戶口非常適合想以較低費用交易美股、港股及交易所買賣基金的投資者。同嘉信理財一樣,SoFi Hong Kong戶口不收取佣金或平台費,且不設最低存款額要求。客戶僅需依據政府規定,在持牌銀行開立的戶口內擁有HK$10,000存款。SoFi Hong Kong是投資美股與港股門檻最低的戶口之一。
嘉信投資賬戶 vs. 盛寶金融戶口
  • 最低港股佣金:0.08%(HK$40)
  • 最低美股佣金:US$0.10(US$10)
  • 最低A股佣金:0.08%(CN¥15)
  • 備註:以上為基本賬戶佣金。
盛寶金融以繁多的金融產品及廣泛的交易市場選擇而脫穎而出。消費者可於遍佈全球的36間交易所投資逾4,0000款金融產品(包括債券、共同基金、外匯、大宗產品、期貨、期權等等)。VIP客戶更可享受一流的客戶服務,包括配備專門的交易員,及優先客戶支援服務。


豐富的產品和服務選擇令盛寶金融的費用比多數戶口更高。盛寶金融基本賬戶設有US$2,000的最低開戶存款額,及美市交易每筆US$10的最低佣金。雖然盛寶金融為專業投資者提供最廣泛的交易市場範圍,但想以較低成本投資美股及交易所買賣基金的普通消費者,最好選擇嘉信投資賬戶。

嘉信投資賬戶 v. SoFi Hong Kong戶口
  • 最低港股佣金:N/A
  • 最低美股佣金:US$0
  • 最低A股佣金:N/A
SoFi Hong Kong戶口非常適合想以較低費用交易美股、港股及交易所買賣基金的投資者。同嘉信理財一樣,SoFi Hong Kong戶口不收取佣金或平台費,且不設最低存款額要求。客戶僅需依據政府規定,在持牌銀行開立的戶口內擁有HK$10,000存款。SoFi Hong Kong是投資美股與港股門檻最低的戶口之一。
嘉信投資賬戶 v. 盛寶金融戶口
  • 最低港股佣金:0.08%(HK$40)
  • 最低美股佣金:US$0.10(US$10)
  • 最低A股佣金:0.08%(CN¥15)
  • 註:以上列明的是基本賬戶的佣金。
盛寶金融以繁多的金融產品及廣泛的交易市場選擇而脫穎而出。消費者可於遍佈全球的36間交易所投資逾4,0000款金融產品(包括債券、共同基金、外匯、大宗產品、期貨、期權等等)。VIP客戶更可享受一流的客戶服務,包括配備專門的交易員,及優先客戶支援服務。


豐富的產品和服務選擇令盛寶金融的費用比多數戶口更高。盛寶金融基本賬戶設有US$2,000的最低開戶存款額,及美市交易每筆US$10的最低佣金。雖然盛寶金融為專業投資者提供最廣泛的交易市場範圍,但想以較低成本投資美股及交易所買賣基金的普通消費者,最好選擇嘉信投資賬戶。

Kevin Schwartz

Kevin is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion specialising in credit cards in Hong Kong. He previously worked for the U.S. Congress as a Legislative Fellow as well as in international education in Beijing. He holds a B.A. in International Studies and Chinese from the College of the Holy Cross and received multiple scholarships for Chinese language studies, including the State Department Critical Language Scholarship.