Investing

3 Ways the Latest US Stimulus Package Could Affect Asian Economies

The latest US stimulus package is expected to supercharge the American economy. Read about the predicted impacts on markets and tourism in Asia.

The US$1.9 trillion dollar American Rescue Plan is expected to provide a massive boost to an already fast recovering American economy. Unlike the financial crisis of 2008-2009 when the US limped out of a recession and China powered the global economic recovery, the American economy will likely be an engine of global growth. Our analysts expect the stimulus to speed up the American recovery with some potential risks to emerging markets, but also provide US consumers with ample funds to invest overseas and return to pre-pandemic behaviours like international travel.

Key Predictions:

  • The stimulus & US economic growth will drive the global recovery but poses risks to emerging markets
  • Cash-rich retail investors will boost US and Asian stock markets
  • Consumer spending and rapid vaccinations will resume some travel to Asia

The US Stimulus Will Drive Global Growth, Potentially Pose Risks to Emerging Markets

Even before President Joe Biden and House Democrats signed the American Rescue Plan into law, the American economy was recovering and unemployment was declining. With the passage of a massive new US$1.9 trillion stimulus, many economists are increasing their growth expectations. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) doubled its growth forecast for the US economy in 2021 from 3.2% to 6.5%, putting predicted American GDP growth on par with China.

Top 10 Estimated GDP Growth
Data from OECD Economic Outlook, Interim Report "Strengthening the recovery: The need for speed", March 2021


Strong US economic growth is expected to have spillover effects for its largest trading partners in Asia, including China, Japan, and South Korea. Korean exports rose 9.5% on-year in February due to robust demand for chips and automobiles. Strong US consumer spending driven by another round of stimulus checks will likely continue to benefit export-reliant Asian economies.

However, the massive size of the stimulus may cause disruptions to some markets, especially those of emerging economies. Rising investor confidence is raising US and global borrowing costs and strengthening the US dollar, which could cause trouble for heavily indebted developing economics and weaken currencies such as the Indian rupee and Indonesian rupiah.

American Investors Flush with Cash Will Fuel US Stock Boom, Impact Asia

After the global stock market crash early on in the Covid-19 pandemic, US stocks have rebounded at a rapid pace. The S&P 500 rose 17% in 2020 and the Nasdaq saw an incredible 44% climb. China’s Shenzhen component grew 38.73%, Japan’s Nikkei 225 grew 16.01%, and US and Asian markets are looking bullish for 2021.

Performance of Major Asia-Pacific Indexes in 2020


Index
% Change
Australia S&P/ASX 200-1.45%
China CSI 300+27.21%
China Shanghai composite+13.87%
China Shenzhen composite+38.73%
HK Hang Seng-3.4%
India BSE Sensex+15.75%
Japan Nikkei 235+16.01%
Malaysia FTSE BM KLCI+2.42%
Philippines PSE Composite Index-8.64%
South Korea Kospi+30.75%
Taiwan Taiex+22.8%
Vietnam VN-Index+14.87%

Data compiled by CNBC


American retail investors have poured money into the stock market during the pandemic. Roughly US$400 billion of the American Recovery Plan will be used to disburse US$1,400 stimulus checks to millions of Americans. Investment institutions and retail investors will continue pouring money into stocks, which is expected to drive market growth worldwide.

With global markets at all time highs, millions of investors in Asia are opening brokerage accounts and investing in stocks and ETFs. Hong Kong has a number of brokers with no-commission trading, access to US stocks, and extensive international financial products. Read our review of the best securities accounts in Hong Kong to compare brokerage and find the best platform for your needs.

International Travel: A Return to Tourism in Asia?

Over 93.7 million Covid-19 vaccination doses have been administered in the US so far, with an average of 2.11 million doses per day in early March 2021. The latest US stimulus package is set to allocate US$7.5 billion for administering vaccines, and another US$48 billion will go towards tracing infections, distributing tests, and buying personal protective equipment (PPE). With many US states relaxing lockdown restrictions, many are starting to ask: “when will international travel resume?”

Many Covid-19 hotspots around the world remain and one in three global travel destinations remain fully closed to international tourists. However, with global vaccine production ramping up and several countries mulling “vaccine passports”, some analysts predict that by the summer of 2021 international travel may see a rebound.

Some Southeast Asian countries like Thailand are already open to international travellers who apply for a Certificate of Entry (COE) and have a negative Covid-19 test within 72 hours of arrival. Many other countries are more hesitant to resume international travel, opting to wait until more of their population are vaccinated or sticking to more conservative travel bubble plans. With US consumers saving record sums and eager to emerge from lockdowns, countries in Asia that adapt to vaccine passport schemes and open their doors to tourists will likely see a large influx of American travellers.

Even with a vaccine, travellers should take precautions against Covid-19 and other risks during international travellers. To find the most affordable and comprehensive insurance packages, you can read our review of the best travel insurance plans in Hong Kong to vacation with peace of mind.

Kevin Schwartz

Kevin is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion specialising in credit cards in Hong Kong. He previously worked for the U.S. Congress as a Legislative Fellow as well as in international education in Beijing. He holds a B.A. in International Studies and Chinese from the College of the Holy Cross and received multiple scholarships for Chinese language studies, including the State Department Critical Language Scholarship.

Investing

美國最新紓困方案——將以哪3種方式影響亞洲經濟

美國最新的紓困方案預計能大大提振本國經濟。參閱以下評論,了解其可能會對亞洲市場及旅遊業帶來怎樣的影響。

涉及1.9萬億美元的美國紓困法案有望為已在快速重振的美國經濟注入強心針。2008-2009年金融危機中,美國艱難走出衰退,中國則引領全球經濟的復甦。與彼時不同,如今美國經濟將很可能成為全球經濟增長的引擎。我們的分析師預計,紓困計劃將加速美國經濟恢復,亦為新興市場帶來一定的潛在風險;但同時,美國消費者將獲得充足的資金,用於海外投資,並重新投入國際旅遊等疫情前的各種活動。

主要預測:

  • 紓困法案及美國經濟增長將推動全球經濟復甦,但為新興市場帶來風險
  • 資金充裕的散戶將提振美國及亞洲股市
  • 消費支出及疫苗接種的快速推行將令亞洲旅遊市場有所恢復

美國紓困法案將刺激全球經濟增長,並對新興市場帶來潛在風險

在總統拜登及眾議院民主黨人簽署美國紓困法案、令其成為法律之前,美國經濟已經開始復甦,失業率不斷下降。隨著新一輪1.9萬億美元大型紓困計劃的通過,許多經濟學家預測經濟將加速增長。經濟合作與發展組織(OECD)對2021年美國經濟增長的預測數值翻倍,由3.2%提升至6.5%,與中國的GDP(國內生產總值)增長預測持平。

預期GDP增速前10的國家
數據來自OECD Economic Outlook,題為”Strengthening the recovery: The need for speed”的中期報告,發佈於2021年3月


美國經濟的強勁增長,預計會對其在亞洲的幾大貿易夥伴國家產生溢出效應,包括中國、日本和南韓。由於芯片及汽車需求旺盛,韓國2月出口額同比增長9.5%。在新一輪紓困支票的刺激下,美國強大的消費支出很可能繼續惠及依賴出口的亞洲經濟體。

不過,體量龐大的紓困計劃可能會擾動市場,尤其將影響新興經濟體。投資者信心提升,會增加美國及全球的借貸成本,令美元升值,為負債較多的發展中經濟體帶來沉重負擔,削弱印度盧比、印尼盾等貨幣。

資金充裕的美國投資者將推動美股繁榮,影響亞洲市場

在2019冠狀病毒病疫情初期全球股市急瀉之後,美股快速反彈。道瓊斯指2020年升幅為7.3%,數標準普爾500指數上漲17%,納斯達克指數的攀升幅度更達到驚人的44%。中國的深證成份指數漲幅為38.73%,而日本的日經225指數則上升16.01%。2021年,美國及亞洲市場將繼續看漲。

2020年亞太地區主要指數表現


指數
變化百分比(%)
標普澳洲綜合200 指數-1.45%
中國標智滬深300+27.21%
中國上證綜合指數+13.87%
中國深證成份指數+38.73%
香港恆生指數-3.4%
印度BSE Sensex指數+15.75%
日本日經235指數+16.01%
馬來西亞FTSE BM KLC指數I+2.42%
菲律賓PSE Composite指數-8.64%
南韓Kospi指數+30.75%
台灣加權指數+22.8%
越南VN指數+14.87%

數據由CNBC整理


疫情期間,美國散戶投資者紛紛將資金投入股市。此次美國紓困計劃中,約4,000億美元將用於向數百萬民眾發放每人1,400美元的紓困支票。投資機構和散戶將繼續注資股市,預計將推動全球市場增長。

隨著全球市場創下歷史新高,不計其數的亞洲投資者正在開立交易賬戶,投資股票和交易所買賣基金。諸多香港券商免除交易佣金,不僅提供美股交易服務,更有種類多樣的國際金融產品可供選擇。參閱我們有關香港最佳證券戶口的評論,比較各大券商,找到最適合您的平台。

國際旅遊:亞洲旅遊逐漸恢復?

截至目前,美國已接種超過9,370萬針2019冠狀病毒病疫苗,2021年3月初平均每日接種達211萬針。美國最新的紓困計劃將撥款75億美元用於注射疫苗,另有480億美元用於追蹤感染病例、派發病毒測試及購買個人防護設備。隨著各州逐漸放鬆隔離措施,許多人開始關注國際旅行的恢復情況。

現時,全球仍有大量2019冠狀病毒病疫區。全球旅遊目的地中,仍有三分之一未向國際遊客開放。不過,世界疫苗生產正在加速,多個國家亦正醞釀出台「疫苗護照」。因此,有分析人士預測,到2021年夏天,國際旅遊可能會出現回溫。

包括泰國在內的一些東南亞國家已經對國際旅客重新開放。遊客只需申請入境證明 (Certificate of Entry),並在到達後的72小時內取得陰性病毒測試結果,即可入境。但是,許多國家仍持謹慎態度,打算等更多本國民眾接種疫苗後再恢復國際旅行,或繼續推行更保守的旅遊「氣泡」計劃。由於美國消費者儲蓄金額創下歷史新高,民眾急於擺脫封鎖,若亞洲國家採用疫苗護照計劃,並向遊客敞開國門,預計將會迎來大批美國遊客。

即使已接種疫苗,遊客在國際旅遊期間仍要注意防範2019冠狀病毒病及其他風險。若要搜尋最實惠、最全面的保險計劃,請參閱我們有關香港最佳旅遊保險計劃的評論,助您從容享受安心假期。

Kevin Schwartz

Kevin is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion specialising in credit cards in Hong Kong. He previously worked for the U.S. Congress as a Legislative Fellow as well as in international education in Beijing. He holds a B.A. in International Studies and Chinese from the College of the Holy Cross and received multiple scholarships for Chinese language studies, including the State Department Critical Language Scholarship.