{"buttonLabel":"Learn More","productCollection":"deposits","productId":"7","productLink":"https:\/\/www.sc.com\/hk\/personal-banking\/premium\/","productName":"Standard Chartered Premium Banking Account"}
{"buttonLabel":"Learn More","productCollection":"deposits","productId":"7","productImage":"referral_logos\/hk\/banking\/standard-chartered-1.png","productLink":"https:\/\/www.sc.com\/hk\/personal-banking\/premium\/","productName":"Standard Chartered Premium Banking Account"}

Standard Chartered Premium Banking: The Best Savings Account for High Income Customers?

Premium Features and Promotions Attractive to High-Income Customers

Standard Chartered Premium Banking: The Best Savings Account for High Income Customers?

Premium Features and Promotions Attractive to High-Income Customers

4.0/5.0

ValueChampion Rating ValueChampion Icon

Good for

  • High income customers
  • Customers seeking a more personalized banking experience
  • Customers interested in great promotional offers
  • Customers who would like to earn cash back and rewards for their membership

Bad for

  • People who want to earn lots of money via interest from their savings account
  • Customers who cannot afford to make a high initial deposit

With a relatively high minimum initial deposit of HK$200,000, Standard Chartered's Premium Banking services are intended for high income consumers who seek to benefit from a more elaborate banking scheme. Although the maximum interest rate for this savings account is comparable to regular savings accounts across Hong Kong, few other options present the opportunity for customers to diversify their banking experience as much as the SCB Premium Account while also benefiting from Standard Chartered's convenience and reputation.

ProsCons
  • Great promotional offers
  • Easy no-fee cash withdrawal; access to over 2,600+ JETCO (Standard Chartered, Bank of China, Citibank, and more) cash machines
  • Access your account via branches, phone banking, online, and mobile app/website
  • International and foreign currency banking options
  • Barrier to entry; high minimum deposit
  • The max EIR of this account is 0.0010%, regardless of how much you deposit
Promotion From 1 January 2021 to 28 February 2021, new SCB Premium Banking customers are eligible for up to HK$900 cash rebate, with an additional HK$200 rebate for opening an account through the SCB mobile app.
Pros & Cons
Pros:
  • Great promotional offers
  • Easy no-fee cash withdrawal; access to over 2,600+ JETCO (Standard Chartered, Bank of China, Citibank, and more) cash machines
  • Access your account via branches, phone banking, online, and mobile app/website
  • International and foreign currency banking options
Cons:
  • Barrier to entry; high minimum deposit
  • The max EIR of this account is 0.0010%, regardless of how much you deposit
  • Promotion From 1 January 2021 to 28 February 2021, new SCB Premium Banking customers are eligible for up to HK$900 cash rebate, with an additional HK$200 rebate for opening an account through the SCB mobile app.

What Makes Standard Chartered Premium Banking Stand Out?

Standard Chartered's Premium Banking account is one of the most popular high-minimum bank accounts in Hong Kong, and for good reason. Unlike regular, no-minimum savings accounts, the Standard Chartered (SCB) Premium account gives customers access to special services and rewards opportunities. For instance, SCB offers on-demand financial assistance with live agents for banking and wealth management inquiries. Likewise, through the 360 Rewards programme, customers can earn up to HK$35 cashback, 490 Asia Miles, or 7,000 points per month for using various Standard Chartered banking products.

In addition to SCB Premium Banking's unique customer services and rewards, customers also enjoy the perks that come with opening any Standard Chartered bank account—namely, convenience. Standard Chartered customers can access over 2,600 SCB or JETCO-affiliated banks' cash machines throughout Hong Kong. Customers can also conduct online and mobile banking, and can earn an additional HK$200 cashback if they open their Premium Account through the mobile app.

Standard Chartered Premium Banking Interest Rates

Deposit AmountInterest Rate
Minimum/Base Rate0.0010%

Standard Chartered Premium Banking Interest Rates

Deposit Amount

Interest Rate
Minimum/Base Rate0.0010%

Standard Chartered Premium Banking Details & Requirements

Details and Requirements
Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK identity card
Minimum Monthly SalaryHK$20,000+
Minimum Initial DepositHK$200,000
Minimum Average Daily BalanceHK$200,000
Mortgage RequirementMortgage outstanding amount = sum of HK$1,500,000+
Fall-Below FeeN/A

Promotional Offers

Standard Chartered offers some compelling promotions for both new and existing customers who upgrade to Premium Banking. Depending on the total value of your initial deposit, you are eligible to earn cash rebates or air miles on a sliding scale. This may be attractive for customers with more readily disposable income, as they would benefit not only from depositing higher amounts, but also from the option to use their rewards for travel.

Furthermore, Standard Chartered's promotions incentivise use of their other services. You can earn cash back for using SCB's online foreign currency exchange and enjoy six months of no-subscription fee online trading when you sign up for the SCB Premium Account. Through the aid of each of these services, customers may diversify their savings and investments directly through the bank.

New Funds Growth Offer Existing SCB clients who upgrade to Premium Banking can earn up to HK$900 or 12,000 Asia Miles through fulfilment of the New Funds Growth Offer and meeting the following deposit requirements:

  • Between HK$200,000 and HK$499,999: HK$500 rebate or 8,000 Asia Miles
  • Between HK$500,000 and HK$799,999: HK$700 rebate or 10,000 Asia Miles
  • HK$800,000 and above: HK$900 rebate or 12,000 Asia Miles

Online Foreign Exchange Membership Rewards You can earn HK$100 when you sign up for online foreign exchange membership with your Standard Chartered Premium Account.

Online Unit Trusts Offer Premium Banking customers can enjoy a 0% subscription fee for the first six months of online trading.

Online Member Referral Rewards Customers can earn rewards when they refer new customers to sign up for the following Standard Chartered bank accounts:

For Referrer (Per Referral): Deposit AmountInterest Rate
Priority PrivateHK$6,000 cash rebate or 60,000 Miles
Priority BankingHK$1,000 cash rebate or 10,000 Miles
Premium BankingHK$3,000 cash rebate or 3,000 Miles
Easy BankingHK$200 or 2,000 Miles
Salary BonusPackHK$100 or 1,000 Miles
For Referee: Deposit AmountInterest Rate
Priority PrivateUp to HK$40,000 cash rebate or 400,000 Miles
Priority BankingUp to HK$9,500 cash rebate or 100,000 Miles
Premium BankingUp to HK$900 cash rebate or 12,000 Miles
Easy BankingUp to HK$200 cash rebate
Salary BonusPackUp to HK$900 cash rebate or 9,000 Miles

How Does Standard Chartered Premium Banking Compare to Other Options?

Read our comparisons of Standard Chartered Premium Banking with other savings accounts in Hong Kong and learn what makes each account unique in its own way. We compare and contrast each account to help you to identify which best suits your needs.

Standard Chartered Premium Banking v. Citibank Priority Account

Consider this if you are an affluent consumer interested in financial tools and trading and investment products.

Citibank Priority, like Standard Chartered Premium Banking, is intended for high-income customers who prefer that their investment portfolios are connected to their bank savings. Because both accounts allow seamless access between readily available funds, savings, and investment holdings, customers can more easily transfer funds between accounts and view their total portfolios together. Moreover, through online and mobile banking as well as Citibank's and Standard Chartered's plentiful branch and ATM locations throughout Hong Kong, customers' finances can be managed at ease both virtually and physically.

Unlike SCB Premium, however, Citibank Priority has a higher deposit threshold and fewer opportunities to earn rewards from promotional deals. Thus, because of the Citibank Priority Account's high barrier of entry, it is truly an account tailored for the affluent to carry out their more specific banking and investing needs.

Details & Requirements
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Hong Kong Citizens: HK identity card and residential address proof
  • HK Non-Permanent Residents: HK identity card or valid travel document (e.g. passport), and current residential address proof
  • Non-HK Residents: valid travel document and current residential address proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$500,000
Minimum Average Daily BalanceHK$500,000
Max EIR
  • Minimum/Base Rate: 0.0010%

Standard Chartered Premium Banking v. HSBC One Account

Consider this if you value convenience, brand reputation, promotional offers, and integration of savings accounts to other banking products.

HSBC One Account and other HSBC savings accounts, similarly to SCB's Premium Banking, stand out due to their integration with other banking products and strong promotional offers. Both options also allow customers access to each bank's major branch and ATM network in Hong Kong, meaning that convenience is a paramount quality for each of these options.

However, affluent customers may be drawn more to SCB Premium Banking due to the live financial assistance and wealth management services complimentary to the account. These tools are beneficial for customers seeking more personalized insights than a regular bank account and are thus perhaps more applicable to high-income customers and avid investors.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement
  • 18 to sign up for your own account
  • Customers aged 11-17 can apply with parental/guardian sponsorship
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Hong Kong citizens: HK identity card and residential address proof
  • HK non-permanent residents: HK identity card or valid travel document (e.g. passport), and current residential address proof
  • Non-HK residents: valid travel document and current residential address proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementN/A
Max EIR0.0010%
  • 0.000% (under HK$5,000)
  • 0.0010% (HK$5,000+)

Standard Chartered Premium Banking v. Bank of China HK Dollar Savings Account

Consider this if you would like to earn a marginally higher interest rate on deposits over HK$1,000,000 or a slightly wider range of no-fee ATM access.

Bank of China HK Dollar Savings Account is one of our picks for the best no-minimum savings account deposit in Hong Kong. There are two primary appeals to this account: interest rates and easy accessibility. Because Bank of China not only has no minimum deposit threshold for its HK Dollar Savings Account, but begins to accrue interest at HK$3,000 and observes a rate increase to 0.0020% at HK$1,000,000, this account offers the highest maximum earned interest rate of any major bank in Hong Kong. Likewise, as a JETCO member, Bank of China is a member of the largest ATM network in Hong Kong, making cash withdrawals easy for customers.

The Bank of China HK Dollar Savings Account does not, however, offer the same financial tools and promotional rewards as Standard Chartered Premium Banking. Although Bank of China does offer foreign currency accounts, they require separate applications and are void of the same opportunities to earn cash rebates. In this sense, while Bank of China allows customers to earn marginally more from interest, Standard Chartered offers the most opportunities to maximize and grow savings through Premium Banking services.

Details and Requirements Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK identity card and proof of residence
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Average Daily BalanceN/A
Max EIR
  • 0.000% (under HK$3,000)
  • 0.0010% (HK$3,000 - HK$999,999)
  • 0.0020% (HK$1,000,000+)

Standard Chartered Premium Banking v. DBS Savings Account

Consider this if you value DBS's brand reputation and large ATM network.

DBS Savings Account, similar to Standard Chartered, offers market average interest rates and integrated checking and savings accounts. Likewise, as DBS is a JETCO member, you will be able to use over 2,600 no-fee ATMs for cash withdrawals and deposits in Hong Kong. Through the DBS mobile app, you will also be able to check your funds and conduct your banking needs directly on your mobile phone.

However, SCB Premium Banking remains a stronger option for high-income customers. Although both accounts are certainly convenient, the more specific needs of those who diversify their savings into investments or foreign currency holdings enable Standard Chartered Premium Banking's tailored banking tools to be a more applicable fit. For those who do not want to or cannot afford to meet SCB Premium's HK$200,000 deposit threshold, however, DBS may be a better choice.

Details and Requirements Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK permanent identity card or HK/foreign country identity card and valid travel document and proof of residence
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Average Daily BalanceN/A
Max EIR0.0010%
  • Minimum/Base Rate: 0.0010%
Stephen Lee

Stephen Lee is a Senior Research Analyst at ValueChampion Hong Kong, specializing in insurance. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Studies from the University of Washington, and his prior work experience include risk management and underwriting for professional liability and specialty insurance at Victor Insurance. Additionally, Stephen is a former US Peace Corps Volunteer in Myanmar (serving between 2018-2020), where he continues to provide business development consulting services to HR companies in Asia Pacific.

渣打「Premium理財」:高收入人士的最佳儲蓄戶口?

渣打「Premium理財」:高收入人士的最佳儲蓄戶口?

儘管渣打銀行Premium理財賬戶的最低存款額要求為HK$200,000,但其回報和優惠非其他產品能及。

較適合

  • 高收入的消費者
  • 喜歡更深刻的理財經驗的消費者
  • 想要利用最好的優惠的消費者
  • 想從優惠拿到現金的消費者

較不適合

  • 希望從利率獲得最多儲蓄的消費者
  • 未達到初始最低存款的人

Editor's Rating

4.0/5.0

渣打「Premium理財」專為希望獲享周全銀行服務的高收入人士而設,其最低開戶存款額較高,為HK$200,000。儘管這款儲蓄戶口的最高存款年利率同香港其他常見儲蓄戶口相差無幾,但渣打「Premium理財」戶口客戶不僅可以享受多元服務,還可從渣打銀行的便利性和卓著聲譽受益,而這些很少有其他戶口能夠做到。

優點缺點
  • 豐厚推廣優惠
  • 輕鬆免費提款;可從超過2,600台「銀通」(適用於渣打銀行、中國銀行、花旗銀行等)取款機提款
  • 透過分行、電話理財、網上銀行及應用程式/網站登入戶口
  • 可獲國際及外幣理財服務
  • 門檻較高;最低開戶存款額高
  • 無論存款額如何,最高實際利率僅為0.0010%
優惠 在2021年1月1日至2021年2月28日期間,「Premium 理財」新客戶尊享高達HK$900的現金回贈,透過SC Mobile應用程式開戶更可額外獲HK$200現金回贈。
優點 & 缺點
優點
  • 豐厚推廣優惠
  • 輕鬆免費提款;可從超過2,600台「銀通」(適用於渣打銀行、中國銀行、花旗銀行等)取款機提款
  • 透過分行、電話理財、網上銀行及應用程式/網站登入戶口
  • 可獲國際及外幣理財服務
缺點
  • 門檻較高;最低開戶存款額高
  • 無論存款額如何,最高實際利率僅為0.0010%
  • 優惠 在2021年1月1日至2021年2月28日期間,「Premium 理財」新客戶尊享高達HK$900的現金回贈,透過SC Mobile應用程式開戶更可額外獲HK$200現金回贈。

渣打「Premium理財」的過人之處

在所有開戶金額較高的香港銀行戶口中,渣打「Premium理財」戶口最受歡迎,且實至名歸。與不設最低開戶存款額的普通儲蓄戶口不同,渣打「Premium理財」戶口為用戶提供一系列特定服務及獎賞。譬如,針對客戶的各類銀行服務及理財相關問詢,渣打按需提供實時真人財政支援服務。而透過「360°全面賞」計劃,消費者可使用多種渣打銀行產品賺取每月高達HK$35的現金回贈、490「亞洲萬里通」飛行里數或7,000積分。

除了獨家客戶服務及獎賞,客戶開戶可享各種禮遇及便利,還能使用逾2,600台遍佈香港的渣打或「銀通」聯盟會員銀行之取款機、獲得渣打網上及流動理財服務,透過SC Mobile應用程式開立「Premium理財」戶口更可額外獲享HK$200現金回贈。

渣打「Premium理財」利率

存款額利率
最低/基本利率0.0010%
on_current="true" style="comparison no-mobile" expander="false" align="left left right"

渣打「Premium理財」利率

存款額利率
最低/基本利率0.0010%

渣打「Premium理財」利率

詳情及要求
最低年齡限制N/A
身份/住址證明香港身份證
最低每月入息HK$20,000+
最低開戶存款額HK$200,000
最低平均每日結餘HK$200,000
按揭要求按揭餘額要求:總額超過HK$1,500,000
低額結存服務費N/A

推廣優惠

渣打銀行為「Premium理財」新客戶及升級至「Premium理財」的現有客戶提供卓越優惠。取決於開戶金額的多少,您可享受相應比例的現金回贈或飛行里數獎賞。這對有大筆金額可自由支配的消費者具有一定吸引力,因其不僅能以儲錢賺取利息,還可將賺取的獎賞用來旅遊。

除此之外,渣打銀行還推出各類推廣活動來鼓勵用戶使用銀行的其他服務。登記成為「Premium理財」客戶,並使用渣打的網上外匯交易服務,即可賺取現金回贈,還享有網上證券交易首6個月零認購費優惠。憑藉上述服務,消費者可享有更多元的存款和投資選項。

新資金增長獎賞

若渣打銀行現有客戶升級為「Premium理財」戶口,並符合「新資金增長獎賞」之所有要求及下列存款要求,即可獲高達HK$900現金回贈或12,000「亞洲萬里通」里數。

  • HK$200,000 至 HK$499,999:HK$500 現金回贈 或 8,000 「亞洲萬里通」里數
  • HK$500,000 至 HK$799,999:HK$700 現金回贈 或 10,000 「亞洲萬里通」里數
  • HK$800,000 或以上:HK$900 現金回贈 或 12,000 「亞洲萬里通」里數

網上外匯交易會員獎賞 用渣打「Premium理財」戶口註冊成為網上外匯交易會員,可享HK$100迎新優惠。

網上單位信託優惠 「Premium理財」客戶尊享網上證券交易首6個月零認購費優惠。

網上客戶推薦獎賞 消費者推薦新客戶開立以下渣打銀行戶口可獲得獎賞:

推薦人(每次推薦): 存款額利率
優先私人理財HK$6,000 現金回贈 或 60,000 里數
「優先理財」HK$1,000 現金回贈 或 10,000 里數
「Premium理財」HK$3,000 現金回贈 或 3,000 里數
「快易理財」HK$200 或 2,000 里數
「出糧升級組合」HK$100 或 1,000 里數
被推薦人: 存款額利率
優先私人理財高達HK$40,000 現金回贈 或 400,000 里數
「優先理財」高達HK$9,500 現金回贈 或 100,000 里數
「Premium理財」高達HK$900 現金回贈 或 12,000 里數
「快易理財」高達HK$200 現金回贈
「出糧升級組合」高達HK$900 現金回贈 或 9,000 里數

比較渣打「Premium理財」與其他戶口

閱讀渣打「Premium理財」與香港其他儲蓄戶口的比較分析,了解每個戶口的獨特之處。我們會比較每個戶口,以幫助閣下找到最適合自己的選擇。

渣打「Premium理財」 vs. Citi Priority優先理財戶口

Consider this if 閣下對理財工具、證券交易和投資產品感興趣,且條件殷實。

和渣打「Premium理財」一樣,Citi Priority優先理財戶口專為想將投資組合與銀行儲蓄關聯起來的高收入人士而設。持這兩種戶口的用戶可以隨時隨地查看其現有資金、存款及投資情況,在不同戶口間輕鬆轉移資金,以及檢視所有投資組合。另外,客戶可利用網上和流動銀行,以及花旗和渣打銀行遍佈全港的眾多分行及自動櫃員機,以線上和線下方式輕鬆靈活地管理資產。

不過,Citi Priority優先理財戶口與渣打「Premium理財」的不同點在於其最低開戶存款額要求較高,且推廣優惠和獎賞機會較少。因此,由於門檻較高,Citi Priority優先理財戶口更適合殷實人士進行理財和投資。

詳情及要求
身份/住址證明
  • 香港居民:香港身份證和住址證明
  • 香港非永久性居民:香港身份證或有效旅遊證件(如護照)和現時住址證明
  • 非香港居民:有效旅遊證件和現時住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$500,000
最低平均每日結餘HK$500,000
最高實際利率
  • 最低/基礎利率:0.0010%

渣打「Premium理財」 vs. 滙豐One戶口

Consider this if 較之其他理財產品,閣下更看重便利性、品牌聲譽、優惠力度及全面理財。

滙豐One戶口以及其他滙豐儲蓄戶口同渣打銀行的「Premium理財」戶口類似,都是綜合理財戶口,亦提供卓越優惠。兩者客戶都可使用銀行在香港的各大分行及自動櫃員機享受極致便利。

然而,得益於附加實時財務支援及理財服務,渣打「Premium理財」可能對殷實人士更具吸引力。對於尋求專業理財建議,而非追求普通銀行戶口的消費者而言,這些工具和服務非常實用,因此,渣打「Premium理財」可能更適合高收入和熱衷投資的人士。

詳情及要求
最低年齡限制
  • 年滿18歲即可申請開戶
  • 11歲至17歲的青少年可在父母或監護人的陪同及同意下申請
身份/住址證明
  • 香港居民:香港身份證和住址證明
  • 香港非永久性居民:香港身份證或有效旅遊證件(如護照)和現時住址證明
  • 非香港居民:有效旅遊證件和現時住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低結餘要求N/A
最高實際利率0.0010%
  • 0.000% (HK$5,000以下)
  • 0.0010% (HK$5,000+)

渣打「Premium理財」 vs. 中銀港元活期儲蓄戶口

Consider this if 閣下希望從HK$1,000,000以上的存款賺取更多利息,或在更大範圍免費使用自動櫃員機。

經分析,我們認為中銀港元活期儲蓄戶口是香港最佳無最低結餘要求的儲蓄戶口之一,有高利率和便利性兩大優勢。此戶口不僅不設最低結餘要求,還對HK$3,000以上的存款提供利率,存款達HK$1,000,000更可享高達0.0020%的利率,為香港主要銀行之最高利息回報率。另外,中國銀行是香港最大自動櫃員機網絡「銀通」聯盟的會員,客戶可輕鬆便利地提款。

不過,中銀港元活期儲蓄戶口不提供類似渣打「Premium理財」的理財工具和優惠獎賞。雖然中國銀行也有外幣賬戶,但須單獨申請,且無推出賺取現金回贈的活動。這樣看來,雖然中國銀行提供更高利息,但渣打銀行的「Premium理財」服務可為客戶帶來更好的財富增值機會。

詳情及要求 最低年齡限制N/A
身份/住址證明香港身份證和住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低平均每日結餘N/A
最高實際利率
  • 0.000% (HK$3,000以下)
  • 0.0010% (HK$3,000 - HK$999,999)

渣打「Premium理財」 vs. DBS儲蓄戶口

Consider this if 您看重星展銀行的品牌優勢及其龐大的自動櫃員機網絡。

DBS儲蓄戶口同渣打銀行類似,利率為市場平均水平,兼備儲蓄及支票戶口服務。作為「銀通」聯盟會員,星展銀行客戶可免費在香港逾2,600台自動櫃員機進行存取款,還可用星展流動理財應用程式檢視資金情況、操作銀行事宜。

不過,渣打「Premium理財」依然是高收入人士的有力之選。雖然這兩款戶口都極為便利,但對於希望將其存款用於投資或外幣交易的消費者而言,渣打「Premium理財」的客製化理財工具可能更有優勢。若無法滿足渣打「Premium理財」HK$200,000的最低開戶存款額要求,則不妨考慮DBS儲蓄戶口。

詳情及要求 最低年齡限制N/A
身份/住址證明香港永久居民身份證或香港/其他國家身份證和有效旅遊證件,以及 住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低平均每日結餘
最高實際利率0.0010%
  • 最低/基礎利率:0.0010%
黄奭彤

黄奭彤 (Seaton Huang) is a Junior Research Analyst covering consumer finance products in Hong Kong. As an alumnus of Columbia University (M.A., 2020), Northeastern University (B.A., 2019), and a former Fulbright Fellow at Shaanxi Normal University (2018), he has significant academic and analytical expertise in the economic and political terrains of China, Hong Kong, and Asia Pacific. His past research has concerned the socioeconomic effects of mobile payment systems in China and the efficacy of China's Belt and Road Initiative in Central Asia, among other poignant topics in contemporary Asia.