{"buttonLabel":"Learn More","productCollection":"deposits","productId":"12","productLink":"https:\/\/www.dbs.com.hk\/personal\/deposits\/accounts\/savings-and-current-accounts","productName":"DBS Account"}
{"buttonLabel":"Learn More","productCollection":"deposits","productId":"12","productImage":"referral_logos\/hk\/banking\/dbs-1.jpg","productLink":"https:\/\/www.dbs.com.hk\/personal\/deposits\/accounts\/savings-and-current-accounts","productName":"DBS Account"}

Saving with the DBS Account: Simplifying Your Banking Needs

A Reputable Option for Integrated Current, Cheque, and Savings Accounts

Saving with the DBS Account: Simplifying Your Banking Needs

A Reputable Option for Integrated Current, Cheque, and Savings Accounts

3.0/5.0

ValueChampion Rating ValueChampion Icon

Good for

  • Customers who value the bank's reputation and large network
  • Customers who prefer an integrated savings and current account
  • Customers who value convenience

Bad for

  • Customers who cannot afford the account's high minimum deposit threshold
  • Customers wary of possible service fees
  • Customers who value promotional offers and cash back opportunities

Although it requires a high minimum deposit of HK$200,000, the DBS Account is relatively robust in terms of the services and features it offers. The main attraction to the DBS Account account is its convenience: customers enjoy an integrated current, cheque, and savings account through just one application. Furthermore, through mobile/online banking access and DBS Bank's large ATM network, customers may instantly move money between accounts, convert foreign currencies, invest online, and easily withdraw cash at no fee. Additionally, DBS Account signees may receive regular market updates and investment information for free.

ProsCons
  • Instant online and mobile banking services and foreign currency exchanges
  • Integrated current, cheque, and savings accounts
  • Regular investment and market updates
  • High minimum deposit requirement
  • Fees for closing accounts and monthly fees if you fail to meet the minimum balance
  • Flat savings rate of 0.0010%
Pros & Cons
Pros
  • Instant online and mobile banking services and foreign currency exchanges
  • Integrated current, cheque, and savings accounts
  • Regular investment and market updates
Cons High minimum deposit requirement Fees for closing accounts and monthly fees if you fail to meet the minimum balance Flat savings rate of 0.0010%

What Makes the DBS Account Stand Out?

There are both positive and negative qualities of the DBS Savings Account that potential customers should be aware of before signing up. To begin, the DBS Savings Account is a viable savings account for customers who can afford its high minimum deposit threshold and uphold its monthly balance requirement. Because the DBS Account combines checking and savings account services, there is no separate application needed for customers to receive a comprehensive banking experience with minimal effort.

Likewise, the account is truly convenient. Online and mobile banking services allow customers both instant service and general updates about their finances and the financial markets around them. As a member of the JETCO ATM network, DBS allows its customers no-fee access to over 2,600 DBS, Standard Chartered, Citibank, Bank of China, and other JETCO banks' ATMs across Hong Kong. Customers can even receive a free DBS ATM card, with a $500/day spending limit, to facilitate cash spending and withdrawals.

However, the main caveats to this account are related to its financial requirements and imposition of fees. As stated earlier, DBS's HK$200,000 minimum deposit and balance requirement are already high compared to other savings accounts in Hong Kong. Similarly, it charges fall below fees of HK$100 for each month the requirement is not met, as well as HK$200 for closing an account within three months of opening. Customers should be fully aware and able to stomach such charges if they choose to bank through this account.

DBS Savings Account Interest Rates

Deposit AmountInterest Rate
Minimum/Base Rate0.0010%

DBS Savings Account Interest Rates

Deposit Amount

Interest Rate
Minimum/Base Rate0.0010%

DBS Savings Account Details & Requirements

Details and Requirements
Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK permanent identity card or HK/foreign country identity card and valid travel document and proof of residence
Minimum Initial DepositHK$200,000
Minimum Balance RequirementHK200,000
Fall-Below FeeHK$100 monthly fee if minimum balance is not met
Account Closing FeeHK$200 if account is closed within 3 months of the opening date

How does the DBS Account Compare to Other Options?

Read our comparisons of the DBS Account with other savings accounts in Hong Kong and learn what makes each account unique in its own way. We compare and contrast each account to help you to identify which best suits your needs.

DBS Account vs. Standard Chartered Premium Banking

Consider this if you are a high-income customer who would like to earn promotional rewards in addition to wealth management services and premium features.

Standard Chartered Premium Banking makes a natural comparison to the DBS Account in that they both carry a minimum deposit requirement of HK$200,000. Apart from this, both accounts share some key features. For instance, although both accounts have maximum interest rates of only 0.0010%, they offer specialized insights for their users to make wiser financial decisions. Likewise, both banks are JETCO members and offer customers the widest no-fee ATM network in Hong Kong along with mobile and online banking services.

There are, however, two major advantages to choosing Standard Chartered Premium compared to the DBS Account. Firstly, Standard Chartered does not charge customers additional fees for failing to meet deposit requirements or account closing. In fact, DBS is one of the few banks that imposes possible fees of any bank in Hong Kong. Furthermore, unlike those of the DBS Account, Standard Chartered Premium customers have several opportunities to earn additional cash back, including up to an instant HK$900 cash rebate for a successful application.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK identity card
Minimum Monthly SalaryHK$20,000+
Minimum Initial DepositHK$200,000
Minimum Balance RequirementHK$200,000
Mortgage RequirementMortgage outstanding amount = sum of HK$1,500,000+
Max EIR0.0010% p.a.
  • Minimum/Base Rate: 0.0010%

DBS Account vs. Citi Priority Banking

Consider this if you are an affluent consumer interested in financial tools and trading and investment products.

Citi Priority Banking compares to the DBS Account in that both accounts share high minimum deposit and balance requirements. However, Citi Priority is likely to appeal to a more affluent customer base through its higher requirements and emphasis on investing. Unlike the DBS Account, the Citi Priority account incentivises investment through a more tailored trading platform and related promotional offers. DBS, on the other hand, focuses on personal banking and financial management.

Despite the differences between account intention, there are several common features to both accounts. For instance, both accounts feature integrated cheque and savings services, mobile and online banking, and access to JETCO's 2,600+ ATMs in Hong Kong. In this sense, both accounts will grant customers convenience and assurance. However, avid investors and those looking for more rewards opportunities may find Citibank more attractive.

Details & Requirements
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Hong Kong Citizens: HK identity card and residential address proof
  • HK Non-Permanent Residents: HK identity card or valid travel document (e.g. passport), and current residential address proof
  • Non-HK Residents: valid travel document and current residential address proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$500,000
Minimum Average Daily BalanceHK$500,000
Max EIR0.0010% p.a.
  • Minimum/Base Rate: 0.0010%

DBS Account vs. Bank of China Savings Accounts

Consider this if you deal with a wide array of foreign currencies or prefer a no minimum savings account.

Bank of China Savings Accounts are overall more accessible savings accounts in comparison to the DBS Account. While both banks' customers benefit from their access to no-fee transactions at each other's ATMs and other JETCO cash machines, as well as online and mobile banking capabilities, Bank of China's minimum balance requirement of HK$0 is enticing. Although signing up for a current account at Bank of China will require a separate application, it can be integrated into an existing Bank of China savings account to increase customer convenience.

Furthermore, Bank of China savings accounts are compatible with the highest amount of foreign currencies of any savings account in Hong Kong. If you frequently visit or conduct business internationally, Bank of China will likely be more appealing. Additionally, high income customers (HK$1,000,000+) may earn a marginally higher interest rate for storing savings in a Bank of China savings account.

Details and Requirements Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK identity card and proof of residence
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Average Daily BalanceN/A
Max EIR0.0020% p.a.
  • 0.000% (under HK$3,000)
  • 0.0010% (HK$3,000 - HK$999,999)
  • 0.0020% (HK$1,000,000+)

DBS Account vs. HSBC One Account

Consider this if you are considering an integrated account with no minimum requirements.

HSBC One Account and the DBS Account are similar in that they make customer interaction easy, integrating cheque and savings accounts through just one application. However,the DBS Account is comparatively less accessible and offers only marginally different services from the HSBC One Account. For instance, HSBC does not require a minimum deposit or monthly balance, and does not charge any additional fees. Although HSBC's total ATM network is smaller than that of DBS and other JETCO banks, HSBC still controls a large physical presence in Hong Kong. Customers are unlikely to find cash withdrawal capabilities limited when banking with HSBC. Unless DBS's market updates and larger ATM network are a necessity for you, the HSBC One Account is both easier to sign up for and maintain.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement
  • 18 to sign up for your own account
  • Customers aged 11-17 can apply with parental/guardian sponsorship
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Hong Kong citizens: HK identity card and residential address proof
  • HK non-permanent residents: HK identity card or valid travel document (e.g. passport), and current residential address proof
  • Non-HK residents: valid travel document and current residential address proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementN/A
Max EIR0.0010%
  • 0.000% (under HK$5,000)
  • 0.0010% (HK$5,000+)
黄奭彤

黄奭彤 (Seaton Huang) is a Junior Research Analyst covering consumer finance products in Hong Kong. As an alumnus of Columbia University (M.A., 2020), Northeastern University (B.A., 2019), and a former Fulbright Fellow at Shaanxi Normal University (2018), he has significant academic and analytical expertise in the economic and political terrains of China, Hong Kong, and Asia Pacific. His past research has concerned the socioeconomic effects of mobile payment systems in China and the efficacy of China's Belt and Road Initiative in Central Asia, among other poignant topics in contemporary Asia.

DBS星展銀行儲蓄戶口:令理財更輕鬆

DBS星展銀行儲蓄戶口:令理財更輕鬆

雖然星展銀行戶口的最低存款額要求較高,為HK$200,000,但其提供的服務及功能相當出眾。便利性是DBS戶口最大的亮點。僅需進行一次申請,即可享受往來、支票及儲蓄功能多合一綜合戶口。另外,透過流動或網上理財服務,或利用DBS龐大的自動櫃員機網絡,客戶能在不同戶口之間即時轉移資金、兌換外幣、進行線上投資,亦可輕鬆免費提現。DBS戶口的簽約客戶更可免費定期獲取最新市場及投資資訊。

優點缺點
  • 即時網上和流動理財服務及外幣兌換服務
  • 往來、支票及儲蓄多合一綜合戶口
  • 定期獲得投資及市場資訊
  • 最低結餘要求較高
  • 取消戶口將被收取費用,未達到最低結餘要求亦會產生月費
  • 儲蓄平息為0.0010%
優點及缺點
優點
  • 即時網上和流動理財服務及外幣兌換服務
  • 往來、支票及儲蓄多合一綜合戶口
  • 定期獲得投資及市場資訊
缺點 最低結餘要求較高 取消戶口將被收取費用,未達到最低結餘要求亦會產生月費 儲蓄平息為0.0010%

DBS星展銀行戶口的過人之處

DBS儲蓄戶口兼具優點及缺點,客戶在開立戶口前應先做好功課。首先,其最低存款要求較高,對於可承擔這筆支出、且能保證滿足每月結餘要求的客戶是一個可行的選擇。由於DBS戶口整合了支票及儲蓄服務,客戶毋須單獨申請,即能以最少的精力獲享全面的理財體驗。

同樣,DBS戶口亦非常便利。透過其網上及流動理財服務,客戶既可享受即時服務,亦能獲取關於其財務狀況及周邊金融市場的最新資訊。作為銀通成員銀行,DBS令客戶可以免費使用DBS、渣打、Citibank、中銀及其他成員銀行遍佈全港的2,600多部自動櫃員機。客戶更可免費獲贈一張DBS自動櫃員機卡,每日簽賬限額為$500,令現金消費及提款變得更方便。

但是,最需要注意的是DBS戶口的財務要求及收費。如前所述,DBS的最低存款要求為HK$200,000,結餘要求亦較苛刻,高於本港其他儲蓄戶口。另外,若最低結餘額未達到要求,用戶將被收取每月HK$100的最低結餘服務費;若在開立戶口後的3個月之內取消戶口,將被收取HK$200的取消費。如果閣下決定使用DBS戶口的理財服務,應確保已充分了解並有能力承擔這些費用。

DBS星展銀行儲蓄戶口利率

存款額利率
最低/基本利率0.0010%

DBS星展銀行儲蓄戶口利率

存款額

**利率*
最低/基本利率0.0010%

DBS星展銀行儲蓄戶口詳情及要求

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求N/A
身份 / 住址證明香港永久身份證,或香港/外國身份證及有效旅行證件,以及住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$200,000
最低結餘限制HK200,000
最低結餘服務費若未能達到最低結餘要求,則需繳付HK$100/每月
戶口取消費若在開立後3個月內取消戶口,則需繳付HK$200

DBS星展銀行戶口與其他戶口之比較

參閱DBS戶口與香港其他儲蓄戶口的比較分析,以了解每款戶口的獨特之處。我們將一一對比這些戶口,以幫助閣下找到最佳選擇。

DBS星展銀行戶口 vs. 渣打Premium理財戶口

渣打Premiuim理財戶口

Consider this if 閣下是高入息客戶,希望賺取推廣獎賞,並使用渣打的理財服務及高級功能。

渣打Premium理財戶口與DBS戶口旗鼓相當,兩者均設有HK$200,000的最低存款要求。除此之外,兩款戶口亦有一些共同特色。例如,雖然最高利率均僅為0.0010%,兩者都為客戶提供專業意見,助力客戶作出更明智的理財決定。兩者更同為銀通成員銀行,為客戶提供全港最廣的免費自動櫃員機網絡,亦都擁有流動及網上理財服務。

不過,相較DBS戶口,渣打Premium理財戶口有兩大優勢。首先,若客戶未能達到最低存款要求,或要取消戶口,渣打不會收取任何額外費用。事實上,DBS是全港為數不多的收取此類費用的銀行之一。另外,不同於DBS戶口,渣打Premium理財戶口為客戶提供了賺取額外現金回贈的機會。譬如,客戶申請戶口,即可獲得多達HK$900的現金回贈。

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求N/A
身份 / 住址證明香港身份證
最低每月入息HK$20,000+
最低開戶存款額HK$200,000
最低結餘要求HK$200,000
按揭要求按揭餘額要求:總額超過HK$1,500,000
最高實際利率年0.0010%實際利率
  • 最低/基礎利率:0.0010%

DBS星展銀行戶口 vs. Citi Priority優先理財戶口

Citi優先理財服務戶口

Consider this if 閣下財務狀況良好,且對理財工具、交易及投資產品感興趣。

Citi Priority優先理財戶口與DBS戶口均設有較高的最低存款及結餘要求。不過,Citi Priority優先理財戶口設有更高的門檻,亦更重視投資相關服務,對富裕的客戶可能更吸引。不同於DBS戶口的是,Citi Priority戶口透過量身定製的交易平台及相關優惠來鼓勵投資,而DBS更注重個人理財服務及資產管理。

儘管設立的目的不同,但這兩款戶口仍有幾個共同特點。例如,兩者均提供支票及儲蓄二合一綜合服務,以及流動和網上理財服務,客戶均可使用全港2,600多部銀通自動櫃員機。從這些方面來看,兩者均是便利、可靠的選擇。但是,熱衷投資、尋求更多收益機會的客戶可能會更青睞Citi Priority優先理財戶口。

詳情及要求
身份 / 住址證明
  • 香港公民:香港身份證及住址證明
  • 香港非永久性居民:香港身份證或有效旅行證件(例如護照),以及現時住址證明
  • 非香港居民:有效旅行證件及現時住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$500,000
最低每日平均結餘HK$500,000
最高實際利率年0.0010%實際利率
  • 最低/基礎利率:0.0010%

DBS星展銀行戶口 vs. 中銀儲蓄賬戶

中銀港元活期儲蓄賬戶

Consider this if 閣下經常使用多種外幣,且希望戶口不設最低存款要求。

相較DBS戶口,中銀儲蓄賬戶總體上更便利。兩者的客戶均能使用對方的自動櫃員機及其他銀通櫃員機免費進行交易,亦都提供網上及流動理財功能;不過中銀不設最低結餘要求,更加慳錢。雖然中銀的往來戶口需要單獨申請開立,但其可以整合至現有的中銀儲蓄賬戶中,方便客戶使用。

另外,在香港所有的儲蓄戶口中,中銀儲蓄賬戶支援的外幣種類最多。若閣下經常出國,或需開展國際業務,中銀戶口可能是更佳選擇。最後,高入息客戶(年入息高於HK$1,000,000)將資金存入中銀儲蓄賬戶,可享受略高的利率。

詳情及要求 最低年齡限制N/A
身份 / 住址證明香港身份證及住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低每日平均結餘N/A
最高實際利率年0.0020%實際利率
  • 0.000% (HK$3,000以下)
  • 0.0010% (HK$3,000 - HK$999,999)

DBS星展銀行戶口 vs. 滙豐One戶口

滙豐港元儲蓄戶口

Consider this if 閣下在尋求不設最低存款要求的綜合戶口。

滙豐One戶口與DBS戶口的客戶均僅需進行一次申請,即可開立支票及儲蓄二合一綜合戶口,令客戶可享受到便利的服務。不過,DBS戶口門檻比滙豐One戶口更高,兩者提供的服務亦有細微差別。譬如,滙豐未設對最低存款額及每月結餘的要求,亦不收取任何額外費用。雖然滙豐的自動櫃員機數量不及DBS及其他銀通成員銀行,但其在香港的實體網絡仍很龐大。滙豐客戶基本不會遇到提現不便的問題。因此,除非DBS提供的市場最新資訊及更大的自動櫃員機網絡對閣下不可或缺,否則滙豐One戶口是一個更易開立及維護的選擇。

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求
  • 客戶開立名下戶口須滿18歲
  • 11-17歲的客戶可在家長或監護人陪同下申請
身份 / 住址證明
  • 香港公民:香港身份證及住址證明
  • 香港非永久性居民:香港身份證或有效旅行證件(例如護照),以及現時住址證明
  • 非香港居民:有效旅行證件及現時住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低結餘要求N/A
最高實際利率0.0010%
  • 0.000% (HK$5,000以下)
  • 0.0010% (HK$5,000+)
Stephen Lee

Stephen Lee is a Senior Research Analyst at ValueChampion Hong Kong, specializing in insurance. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Studies from the University of Washington, and his prior work experience include risk management and underwriting for professional liability and specialty insurance at Victor Insurance. Additionally, Stephen is a former US Peace Corps Volunteer in Myanmar (serving between 2018-2020), where he continues to provide business development consulting services to HR companies in Asia Pacific.