Citi Priority Banking: A Great Savings Account for Investors

Citi Priority Banking: A Great Savings Account for Investors

Building Wealth Through Investing Made Easy

Good for

  • High income customers
  • Customers who would like full-service banking via mobile phone
  • Travelers and those conducting business overseas
  • Customers seeking larger returns for long-term investments
  • Investing and stock trade enthusiasts

Bad for

  • People who cannot afford the high initial deposit
  • Customers who want to maximize earnings via interest

Editor's Rating

4.0/5.0

Citibank Priority Banking is a reliable and trusted option for customers who aim to do more with their money. Specifically, the account is designed with avid investors in mind as its primary beneficiary. The Citibank Priority account answers the call of investing enthusiasts through streamlined stock trading services, connectivity between securities and savings accounts, and trading-specific privileges, while providing the familiarity and convenience afforded by Citibank.

ProsCons
  • Opportunities to earn cashback from promotional offers
  • Access to Citibank's convenience and large network
  • Tools to help stock traders
  • Additional promotional opportunities when signing up through MoneySmart
  • Very high minimum deposit required to sign up
  • High minimum deposit to qualify for some promotions
  • Flat savings rate of 0.0010%
Promotion You may earn an up to HK$700 cash rebate when you sign up for your Citi Priority account via the Citi Mobile app.
Pros & Cons
Pros::
  • Opportunities to earn cashback from promotional offers
  • Access to Citibank's convenience and large network
  • Tools to help stock traders
Cons:
  • Very high minimum deposit required to sign up
  • High minimum deposit to qualify for some promotions
  • Flat savings rate of 0.0010%
  • Promotion You may earn an up to HK$700 cash rebate when you sign up for your Citi Priority account via the Citi Mobile app.

What Makes Citi Priority Banking Stand Out?

Citi Priority banking stands out mostly due to its premium services for investors. With a high minimum deposit threshold of HK$500,000 barring many customers from signing up, this account caters to Hong Kong's wealthy and business-minded class. With this in mind, it is no surprise that Citi Priority transcends the usual deposit-to-interest nature of regular savings accounts and instead features investing at its forefront. Customers benefit from $0 commission when buying HK stocks and $0 charges for foreign currency spending, along with cashback opportunities from several investing-based promotions. Citibank's Priority platform is ideal for global citizens to build wealth.

Citi Priority Banking Interest Rates

Deposit AmountInterest Rate
Minimum/Base Rate0.0010%

Citi Priority Banking Interest Rates

Deposit Amount

Interest Rate
Minimum/Base Rate0.0010%

Citi Priority Banking Details & Requirements

Details and Requirements
Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Hong Kong Citizens: HK identity card and residential address proof
  • HK Non-Permanent Residents: HK identity card or valid travel document (e.g. passport), and current residential address proof
  • Non-HK Residents: valid travel document and current residential address proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$500,000
Minimum Average Daily BalanceHK$500,000
Max EIR
Fall-Below FeeN/A

Promotional Offers

Citibank Priority's great promotional packages offer new customers many ways to earn cash rebates. Customers are especially encouraged to invest, as many of Citibank's promotional offers incentivise trading stock. By simply signing up through the Citibank Mobile App and trading at least one stock, new customers can earn HK$200 while benefiting from no-fee trading and other cashback opportunities from Citibank's Stock Offer. Our partner, MoneyHero, has sweetened the deal with its own bonus sign up offer.

Mobile Account Opening Welcome Offer You can earn HK$200 when you open a securities account and buy or sell at least one HK stock with the Citi Mobile App. To be eligible, you must make this transaction within the first three months of opening your Citibank stock account and fulfill New Funds Offer requirements (see below).

New Funds and Product Balance Offer You can earn a HK$500 cash rebate when you deposit a new fund amount greater than or equal to HK$1,000,000.

Stock Offer Citi Priority makes investing easier for its customers, offering new clients free waivers for HK stock buy fees and permanent waivers of custodian fee(s), along with no minimum brokerage. Furthermore, clients can earn up to HK$3,000 in cash when they transfer in HK, US, and/or SH stock.

Payroll Account Offer New customers can earn cash rebates when they deposit their monthly salaries in their Priority Account based on the following scheme:

  • Monthly salary above or equal to HK$80,000 = HK$800 cash rebate
  • Monthly salary above or equal to HK$50,000 = HK$500 cash rebate
  • Monthly salary above or equal to HK$30,000 = HK$300 cash rebate

MoneyHero Bonus Offer When you sign up for Citi Priority Banking through our partner, MoneyHero, you can earn a HK$200 supermarket cash voucher.

How does Citi Priority Compare to Other Options?

Read our comparisons of Citi Priority Banking with other savings accounts in Hong Kong and learn what makes each account unique in its own way. We compare and contrast each account to help you to identify which best suits your needs.

Citibank Priority Banking v. Standard Chartered Premium Banking

Consider this if you are a high-income customer interested in premium banking services such as customizable financial management and on-demand expertise.

Standard Chartered Premium Banking and the Citibank Priority Account are both intended for wealthier customers. However, SCB's Premium Banking is a better option for those interested in financial tools and money management, while Citibank Priority is more focused on building wealth through investment. Citi Priority's promotional Stock Offer, consisting of cash rewards and a permanent fee waiver for the trading platform, contrast strongly with SCB's Online Unit Trusts Offer, which only provides six months of no-fee online trading.

Overall, Citibank Priority Account and SCB Premium Banking are both great options for more affluent customers in that they have more features than regular savings accounts. Although Citi Priority requires a higher deposit threshold, both accounts grant customers access to Citi's and SCB's major branch and ATM networks, mobile banking platforms, online trading, and impeccable reputation in Hong Kong.

Details & Requirements
Proof of Identification / AddressHK identity card
Minimum Monthly SalaryHK$20,000+
Minimum Initial DepositHK$200,000
Minimum Balance RequirementHK$200,000
Mortgage RequirementMortgage outstanding amount = sum of HK$1,500,000+
Max EIR
  • Minimum/Base Rate: 0.0010%

Citibank Priority Banking v. HSBC One Account

Consider this if you value convenience, brand reputation, promotional offers, and integration of savings accounts to other banking products.

The HSBC One Account consists of some of the features—such as foreign currency support and integration to other banking accounts—that draw customers to the Citibank Priority Account, without the latter's high minimum deposit threshold. In this sense, it is a better option for customers who would like a more integrated banking experience but cannot meet deposit and income requirements. Moreover, the simple application and promotional offers attributed to the HSBC One Account are surely a draw to most consumers.

Compared to the Citibank Priority Account, there are a few major differences between the accounts. For instance, unlike the Citibank Priority Account, HSBC One's platform does not support stock trading. Furthermore, as a JETCO member, Citi customers have access to no-fee cash withdrawals at some 1,600 more ATMs than HSBC customers. Thus, if qualified for the minimum requirements, City Priority customers are getting a more comprehensive account for building wealth, not just saving and earning interest.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement
  • 18 to sign up for your own account
  • Customers aged 11-17 can apply with parental/guardian sponsorship
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Hong Kong citizens: HK identity card and residential address proof
  • HK non-permanent residents: HK identity card or valid travel document (e.g. passport), and current residential address proof
  • Non-HK residents: valid travel document and current residential address proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementN/A
Max EIR0.0010%
  • 0.000% (under HK$5,000)
  • 0.0010% (HK$5,000+)

Citibank Priority Banking v. Bank of China HK Dollar Savings Account

Consider this if you would like to earn a marginally higher interest rate on deposits over HK$1,000,000 or a slightly wider range of no-fee ATM access.

The Bank of China HK Dollar Savings Account is an ideal savings account for beginners in that it carries no minimum balance, no fees, and no fee cash withdrawal at over 2,600 Bank of China and JETCO ATMs. For most accounts and purposes, it does not appeal to the same customer base as the Citibank Priority Account does, but one particular feature may appeal to wealthy clients: the interest rate increases to 0.0020% when total deposits surpass HK$1,000,000. If you are a wealthy customer who would like to earn primarily from the account's savings rate, as opposed to investments, you may find the Bank of China account more appealing to you.

Details and Requirements Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK identity card and proof of residence
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Average Daily BalanceN/A
Max EIR
  • 0.000% (under HK$3,000)
  • 0.0010% (HK$3,000 - HK$999,999)
  • 0.0020% (HK$1,000,000+)

Citibank Priority Banking v. DBS Savings Account

Consider this if you value DBS's brand reputation and large ATM network.

DBS Savings Accounts and Citibank Priority Accounts share many of the common features you will find across Hong Kong: a flat interest rate of 0.0010%, access to a widespread ATM network for no-fee cash withdrawals, integrated current and savings accounts, and mobile banking apps. Whether you choose to bank with DBS or Citi, you will surely find your banking experience streamlined and convenient overall.

Of course, Citi Priority is more heavily tailored for higher-income consumers, meaning that its services are more applicable to this clientele. Securities accounts, no-fee foreign currency exchanges, and rewards for stock trading aree among the features that allow Citi Priority to be a more appealing account to Hong Kong's business class. If these qualities are not directly relevant to your financial portfolio, DBS may present a better option for you.

Details and Requirements Minimum Age RequirementN/A
Proof of Identification / AddressHK permanent identity card or HK/foreign country identity card and valid travel document and proof of residence
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Average Daily BalanceN/A
Max EIR0.0010%
  • Minimum/Base Rate: 0.0010%
黄奭彤

黄奭彤 (Seaton Huang) is a Junior Research Analyst covering consumer finance products in Hong Kong. As an alumnus of Columbia University (M.A., 2020), Northeastern University (B.A., 2019), and a former Fulbright Fellow at Shaanxi Normal University (2018), he has significant academic and analytical expertise in the economic and political terrains of China, Hong Kong, and Asia Pacific. His past research has concerned the socioeconomic effects of mobile payment systems in China and the efficacy of China's Belt and Road Initiative in Central Asia, among other poignant topics in contemporary Asia.

Citi Priority 優先理財:適合投資者的儲蓄及理財戶口

Citi Priority 優先理財:適合投資者的儲蓄及理財戶口

Citi優先理財服務戶口提供的的優質服務將為閣下帶來個人化、更富有遠見的理財體驗。

較適合

  • 高收入的消費者
  • 使用手機與網上理財的消費者
  • 進場旅遊、用外幣的消費者
  • 更喜歡做長期投資的人
  • 股票與投資的愛好者

較不適合

  • 未達到初始最低存款的人
  • 希望從利率獲得最多儲蓄的消費者

Editor's Rating

4.0/5.0

如果閣下希望更好地運用手頭上的資金,Citi Priority 優先理財戶口會是一個備受信賴的可靠選擇。這款產品在設計之初就將投資者的收益納入考慮。Citi Priority戶口以便捷的股票交易服務、證券和儲蓄综合戶口,以及針對股票交易的各種禮遇,滿足了投資愛好者的各樣需求,同時亦具有便利和聲譽良好的優勢。

優點缺點
  • 可藉由優惠活動賺取現金回贈
  • 花旗銀行覆蓋網絡廣,服務便利
  • 為交易者提供投資工具
  • 新客戶經MoneySmart成功開立Citi Priority戶口,即享額外優惠
  • 最低開戶金額要求較高
  • 須達到較高的最低結餘要求,才有資格參與特定優惠
  • 固定儲蓄利率僅為0.0010%
優惠 透過Citi Mobile App開立Citi Priority戶口,可享高達HK$700現金回贈。
優點和缺點
優點:
  • 可藉由優惠活動賺取現金回贈
  • 花旗銀行覆蓋網絡廣,服務便利
  • 為交易者提供投資工具
缺點:
  • 最低開戶金額要求較高
  • 須達到較高的最低結餘要求,才有資格參與特定優惠
  • 固定儲蓄利率僅為0.0010%
  • 優惠 透過Citi Mobile App開立Citi Priority戶口,可享高達HK$700現金回贈。

Citi Priority優先理財戶口的過人之處

Citi Priority 優先理財户口最大的優勢在於能為投資者提供卓越服務。儘管其設有HK$500,000的最低開戶金額,門檻較高,但迎合了家境殷實、商業精英人士的需求。因此,Citi Priority並不是一款傳統意義上的存款賺息儲蓄戶口,而是將投資功能擺在首位。客户可免佣買入港股、以零手續費進行外幣交易,並有機會從投資相關優惠活動中賺取現金回贈。花旗Priority平台是幫助全球公民創造財富的理想之選。

Citi Priority 優先理財戶口利率

存款額利率
最低/基本利率0.0010%

Citi Priority 優先理財戶口利率

存款額

利率
最低/基本利率0.0010%

Citi Priority 優先理財詳情及要求

詳情及要求
最低開戶年齡限制N/A
身份/住址證明
  • 香港居民:香港身份證和住址證明
  • 香港非永久性居民:香港身份證或有效旅遊證件(如護照)和現時住址證明
  • 非香港居民:有效旅遊證件和現時住址證明
最低開戶金額HK$500,000
最低每日平均結餘HK$500,000
最高有效利率
最低結餘服務費N/A

推廣優惠

Citibank Priority的推廣活動為新客戶提供了多種賺取現金獎賞的方式。花旗銀行的許多推廣優惠對股票交易進行獎賞,鼓勵客戶投資。透過Citibank Mobile App開立證券戶口並進行最少一次港股買賣交易,新客戶可獲得HK$200的獎賞,還可享受各種股票服務優惠,如免佣買入港股及其他現金獎賞機會。

手機開戶迎新獎賞 透過Citibank Mobile App開立證券戶口並進行最少一次港股買賣交易,新客戶可獲得HK$200的獎賞。但此次交易需在開立港股戶口後首3個月內進行、並滿足新資金獎賞要求(見下文)。

新資金及產品結存獎賞 存入的新資金滿HK$1,000,000,即可賺取HK$500 的現金回贈。

股票服務優惠 客戶透過Citi Priority投資十分便利。新客戶可免佣買入港股,豁免最低經紀佣金及永久豁免存倉費。另外,成功存入港股/美股及上海A股可享高達HK$3,000現金獎賞。

出糧戶口獎賞 Citi Priority 新客戶每月存入指定薪金,即可獲享以下獎賞:

  • 月薪≥ HK$80,000 = HK$800 現金回贈
  • 月薪≥HK$50,000 = HK$500 現金回贈
  • 月薪≥HK$30,000 = HK$300 現金回贈

MoneyHero獨家優惠 新客戶經我們的合作夥伴MoneyHero成功開立Citi Priority戶口,即可獲得價值HK$200的超市現金券。

Citi Priority與其他戶口之比較

閱讀我們關於Citi Priority 優先理財戶口與香港其他儲蓄戶口之比較分析,了解每款戶口的獨特之處。我們將戶口一一對比,以幫助閣下找到最適合之選。

Citi Priority 優先理財 vs. 渣打「Premium理財」

Consider this if 閣下為高入息人士,對客製化財富管理、理財專家支援等高端理財服務感興趣。

渣打「Premium理財」和Citi Priority 優先理財戶口均為富裕人士而設。但渣打「Premium理財」的優勢在於理財工具和資產管理服務,而Citi Priority側重於透過投資為客戶創造更多財富。Citi Priority 優先理財擁有現金獎賞和交易平台費用永久豁免等股票服務優惠,而渣打的網上基金交易平台僅為網上證券交易提供首6個月零認購費的優惠。

總括而言,Citi Priority 優先理財和渣打「Premium理財」提供的特色服務比常規儲蓄戶口更多,更適合高收入人士。雖然Citi Priority 優先理財的最低開戶金額稍高,但兩者的客戶均可享受遍佈全港的分行及自動櫃員機網絡、手機銀行平台、線上證券交易服務。渣打和花旗銀行的卓著聲譽亦為客戶提供了信心保證。

詳情及要求
身份/住址證明香港身份證
最低每月入息HK$20,000+
最低開戶金額HK$200,000
最低結餘要求HK$200,000
按揭要求按揭餘額要求:總額超過HK$1,500,000
最高有效利率
  • 最低/基礎利率:0.0010%

Citi Priority 優先理財 vs. 滙豐One戶口

Consider this if 閣下更看重便利度、品牌聲譽、優惠力度以及儲蓄和其他理財產品之整合。

Citi Priority 優先理財戶口的外幣服務及綜合理財戶口吸引了許多客戶,而滙豐One戶口亦有這些服務,且最低開戶金額門檻較低。如果閣下想開立一個綜合理財戶口、但難以滿足前者的最低開戶金額和入息要求,則不妨考慮滙豐One戶口。另外,滙豐One戶口申請程序便捷、優惠豐厚,對大多數消費者更具吸引力。

兩種戶口有幾大差別。比如,不同於Citi Priority 優先理財戶口,滙豐One戶口不支援股票交易。另外,作為「銀通」聯盟成員,花旗銀行客戶可使用的免費存取款自動櫃員機數量比滙豐多約1,600台。總體來說,如果閣下滿足Citi Priority 優先理財的開戶要求,那么這款戶口不僅能用於儲蓄賺息,更能全方位為您創造財富。

詳情及要求
最低開戶年齡限制
  • 開立名下戶口須年滿18歲
  • 11-17歲的客戶可在家長或監護人的陪同下申請
身份/住址證明
  • 香港公民:香港身份證及住址證明
  • 香港非永久居民:香港身份證或有效旅行證件(例如護照),及現時住址證明
  • 非香港居民:有效旅行證件及現時住址證明
最低開戶金額HK$0
最低結餘要求N/A
最高有效利率0.0010%
  • 0.000% (HK$5,000以下)
  • 0.0010% (HK$5,000+)

Citi Priority 優先理財 vs. 中銀港元活期儲蓄戶口

Consider this if 閣下希望能從HK$1,000,000以上的存款賺更多息,享受更大範圍的自動櫃員機使用網絡。

中銀港元活期儲蓄戶口不設最低結餘要求,豁免手續費,更可免費使用中國銀行和「銀通」超過2,600部的自動櫃員機,非常適合儲蓄新手使用。基本來說,中銀港元活期儲蓄戶口與Citi Priority 優先理財的客戶群體不同,但其「存款滿HK$1,000,000即賺0.0020%之利息」的特點對殷實消費者具有一定的吸引力。所以,如果高入息客戶相比投資更偏向於賺取存款利息,那麼中銀港元活期儲蓄戶口是更好的選擇。

詳情及要求 最低開戶年齡限制N/A
身份/住址證明香港身份證和住址證明
最低開戶金額HK$0
最低每日平均結餘N/A
最高有效利率
  • 0.000% (HK$3,000以下)
  • 0.0010% (HK$3,000 - HK$999,999)

Citi Priority 優先理財 vs. DBS儲蓄戶口

Consider this if 閣下看重星展銀行的品牌聲譽及其龐大的自動櫃員機網絡。

DBS儲蓄戶口 和Citi Priority 優先理財有許多共同之處,這些特點在香港市場中亦較為常見,例如0.0010%的固定利率、可免費提款的龐大自動櫃員機網絡、儲蓄及支票綜合戶口,以及手機銀行流動程式。不論選哪間,消費者都能獲享便捷舒心的使用體驗。

不過,Citi Priority 優先理財專為高收入人士而設,提供的服務也更適合這類消費者。證券戶口、豁免外幣手續費、對股票交易提供獎賞等特色使得Citi Priority 優先理財成為更吸引高薪階層的選擇。然而,如果這些特色跟閣下的投資理財組合不太貼合,那麼不妨考慮DBS儲蓄戶口。

詳情及要求 最低開戶年齡限制N/A
身份/住址證明香港永久居民身份證或香港/其他國家身份證和有效旅遊證件,以及 住址證明
最低開戶金額HK$0
最低每日平均結餘
最高有效利率0.0010%
  • 最低/基礎利率:0.0010%
黄奭彤

黄奭彤 (Seaton Huang) is a Junior Research Analyst covering consumer finance products in Hong Kong. As an alumnus of Columbia University (M.A., 2020), Northeastern University (B.A., 2019), and a former Fulbright Fellow at Shaanxi Normal University (2018), he has significant academic and analytical expertise in the economic and political terrains of China, Hong Kong, and Asia Pacific. His past research has concerned the socioeconomic effects of mobile payment systems in China and the efficacy of China's Belt and Road Initiative in Central Asia, among other poignant topics in contemporary Asia.