Airstar Savings Account: Highest Promotional Rate for a Mobile Savings Account

Airstar Savings Account: Highest Promotional Rate for a Mobile Savings Account

A Great Promotional Savings Rate And Easy To Use Mobile Platform

Good for

  • Customers who want to earn consistently high savings rates
  • Customers interested in taking advantage of a high promotional interest rate
  • Customers willing to make the transition to full online/mobile banking

Bad for

  • Customers using currencies outside of HK Dollars, US Dollars, and RMB
  • Customers who prefer visiting physical bank branches for financial assistance
  • Customers who need fast cash withdrawals

Editor's Rating

4.0/5.0

Online bank Airstar's savings accounts are certainly not the most convenient or versatile savings accounts in Hong Kong, but they offer customers unbeatable savings rates across all income levels. To elaborate, customers who choose to save with Airstar will earn at minimum 100-times the average interest rate of 0.0010% offered by most major banks in Hong Kong. In addition, Airstar offers a fantastic promotional rate of 3.6% for new customers' initial deposits under HK$20,000. Customers who hope to maximize their returns from savings will find Airstar an enticing option.

ProsCons
  • Savings rates across the board are among the highest in Hong Kong
  • Attractive promotional offer for the first HK$20,000 deposited into savings
  • Platform also supports time deposits and loans
  • Cash withdrawal is only available after funds are transferred to local bank accounts
  • Only foreign currencies compatible with the account are USD and RMB
Promotion From 1 January 2021, new customers who open an Airstar savings account can earn a promotional savings rate of 3.6% for the first HK$20,000 deposited.
Pros & Cons
Pros:
  • Savings rates across the board are among the highest in Hong Kong
  • Attractive promotional offer for the first HK$20,000 deposited into savings
  • Platform also supports time deposits and loans
Cons:
  • Cash withdrawal is only available after funds are transferred to local bank accounts
  • Only foreign currencies compatible with the account are USD and RMB
  • Promotion From 1 January 2021, new customers who open an Airstar savings account can earn a promotional savings rate of 3.6% for the first HK$20,000 deposited.

What Makes the Airstar Savings Account Stand Out?

Airstar's savings accounts truly stand out compared to its competitors with consistently high savings rates. This applies not only to its promotional rate, but also its normal rate for deposits across all income levels, as well as foreign currency deposits. Even though there are quite differences in Airstar's rates based on account balances, all of the offered rates are significantly higher than most competitor rates.

Moreover, the bank seems to privilege lower-to-middle income customers. For instance, the savings rates for deposits under HK$1,000,000 receive the best non-promotional interest rate, 500-times higher than the average across Hong Kong's physical banks. Additionally, though Airstar customers are limited in available foreign currency deposits, savings rates for USD and RMB are much higher than those offered by most other competitor banks.

However, there are some disadvantages in terms of convenience to Airstar's exclusively online and mobile banking services. Without cheque account or cash card capabilities, customers must integrate their Airstar savings accounts with other local banks' cheque accounts to withdraw cash. Similarly, customers who require additional assistance must do so online or by calling an Airstar representative on the phone. If these issues are not bothersome to you, the Airstar savings account is a truly exceptional service that can help you maximize your savings.

Airstar Savings Account Interest Rates

Airstar Hong Kong Dollar Savings Rate
Deposit AmountInterest Rate
First HK$20,0003.60%
Above HK$20,000 and under HK$1,000,0000.50%
Above HK$1,000,0000.10%
Airstar Hong Kong Dollar Savings Rate
Deposit AmountInterest Rate
First HK$20,0003.60%
Above HK$20,000 and under HK$1,000,0000.50%
Above HK$1,000,0000.10%
Airstar Foreign Currency Interest Rates
Foreign Currency TypeInterest Rate
US Dollar (any deposit amount)0.10%
Chinese RMB (any deposit amount)0.25%
Airstar Foreign Currency Interest Rates
Foreign Currency TypeInterest Rate
US Dollar (any deposit amount)0.10%
Chinese RMB (any deposit amount)0.25%

Airstar Savings Account Details & Requirements

Details and Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement18
Proof of Identification / AddressValid Hong Kong identity card and permanent Hong Kong residence proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementHK$0
Fall-Below FeeN/A

How Does the Airstar Savings Account Compare to Other Accounts?

Read our comparisons of the Airstar Savings Account with other savings accounts in Hong Kong and learn what makes each account unique in its own way. We compare and contrast each account to help you to identify which best suits your needs.

Airstar Savings Account vs. livi Bank liviSave

Consider this if you are a higher income customer similarly interested in mobile banking.

livi Bank liviSave and the Airstar Savings Account both offer comparable rates for all customers' deposits below HK$500,000. However, between the range of HK$500,000 and HK$1,000,000, Airstar offers a higher rate at 0.50%. Thus, if you are a high-income customer seeking to maximize earning potential from interest, Airstar should be more appealing to you than livi Bank.

However, aside from the difference in savings rates, both accounts are very similar. Both livi Bank liviSave and Airstar require customers to have existing accounts with other banks to facilitate cash withdrawals and other banking features. livi Bank does offer a free Mastercard debit card for liviSave customers to make purchases, but cash withdrawals made with the card accrue applicable transaction fees.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement18
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Must be a Hong Kong resident with a valid Smart Hong Kong Identity Card, Hong Kong address, and Hong Kong mobile number
  • Must currently be in Hong Kong
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementHK$0
Fall-Below FeeN/A
  • First HK$50,000 or below: 1.00%
  • Above HK$50,000 and under HK$500,000: 0.50%
  • Above HK$500,000: 0.10%

Airstar Savings Account vs. ZA Savings Go

Consider this if you want a consistently a high savings rate for a mobile banking account.

ZA Savings Go and Airstar Savings Account are both great for customers opening a mobile savings account. However, Airstar offers a different interest rate scheme from that of ZA Savings Go. Aside from Airstar's promotional rate of 3.60% for deposits under HK$20,000, ZA's 1% interest rate for all account balances under HK$500,000 is over double the rate offered by Airstar. For customers depositing over HK$1,000,000, on the other hand, Airstar's savings rate is 10-times higher than ZA's rate. ZA Savings Go may be more appealing for customers who identify as low-to-middle income.

When it comes to convenience, both accounts are not ideal and require customers to simultaneously use other banks for their cheque and investing needs. However, ZA customers will find no-fee cash withdrawals easier due to ZA Savings Go's provided debit card with widespread ATM access. Airstar customers will need to rely on other bank cards to conduct in-person purchases and cash withdrawals, but can deposit US Dollars and RMB in addition to HK Dollars.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement18
Proof of Identification / AddressValid Hong Kong identity card and permanent Hong Kong residence proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementHK$0
Fall-Below FeeN/A
  • HK$500,000 and under: 1.000%
  • Above HK$500,000: 0.010%

Airstar Savings Account vs. CNCBI inMotion

Consider this if if you are value a mobile banking platform as well as the reputation of a major JETCO bank.

CNCBI inMotion allows customers who prioritize both the services offered by traditional banks and love using an entirely mobile platform. Compared to the Airstar Savings Account, CNCBI inMotion includes several features outside of savings and time deposits, which include investing, cheque/current accounts, and even a wide variety of promotional rewards. On the other hand, the Airstar Savings Account's primary benefit comes from its high interest, consistent with other mobile-only accounts offered by ZA and livi bank. If you prefer earning higher interest over expanded banking features, Airstar might be more suitable for you. However, if you greatly value brand reputation and desire a more integrated banking experience, choose CNCBI inMotion.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement18
Proof of Identification / AddressValid Hong Kong identity card and permanent Hong Kong residence proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementHK$0
Fall-Below FeeN/A
  • Deposit under HK$4,999.99: 0.0000% p.a.
  • Deposit over HK$5,000: 0.0010% p.a.

Airstar Savings Account vs. HSBC One Account

Consider this if if you are value a mobile banking platform as well as the reputation of a major ETC bank.

HSBC One Account is a great mobile banking platform offered by one of the leading banks in Hong Kong, HSBC. Compared to the Airstar Savings Account, it does not afford customers the same opportunity to earn high savings rates, but does feature greatly expanded banking services. For instance, the HSBC One Account allows customers to open cheque/current, savings, investment, and even childrens' savings accounts through just one application. Moreover, customers of HSBC benefit from the bank's highly concentrated ATM and physical branch network throughout Hong Kong, making any immediate banking needs easily addressable. HSBC's mobile app similarly allows customers on-demand troubleshooting and assistance.

Customers who value the perks mentioned above over the opportunity to earn high interest from savings should choose HSBC, whereas those hoping to earn more might find Airstar a more appealing savings account option.

Details & Requirements
Minimum Age Requirement
  • 18 to sign up for your own account
  • Customers aged 11-17 can apply with parental/guardian sponsorship
Proof of Identification / Address
  • Hong Kong citizens: HK identity card and residential address proof
  • HK non-permanent residents: HK identity card or valid travel document (e.g. passport), and current residential address proof
  • Non-HK residents: valid travel document and current residential address proof
Minimum Initial DepositHK$0
Minimum Balance RequirementHK$0
Fall-Below FeeN/A
  • Deposit under HK$5,000: 0.000%
  • HK$5,000 and above: 0.0010%
黄奭彤

黄奭彤 (Seaton Huang) is a Junior Research Analyst covering consumer finance products in Hong Kong. As an alumnus of Columbia University (M.A., 2020), Northeastern University (B.A., 2019), and a former Fulbright Fellow at Shaanxi Normal University (2018), he has significant academic and analytical expertise in the economic and political terrains of China, Hong Kong, and Asia Pacific. His past research has concerned the socioeconomic effects of mobile payment systems in China and the efficacy of China's Belt and Road Initiative in Central Asia, among other poignant topics in contemporary Asia.

天星銀行: 享最高優惠利率的虛擬銀行儲蓄戶口

天星銀行: 享最高優惠利率的虛擬銀行儲蓄戶口

對於打算完全轉用虛擬銀行服務的客戶而言,天星銀行存款戶口是絕佳選擇。其利率一直高於同行競爭者。

天星銀行作為一間虛擬銀行,其存款戶口當然不算是全港最方便或功能最全面的選擇,但卻為不同收入人士提供無與倫比的優惠儲蓄利率。詳細來講,選擇透過天星銀行儲蓄的客戶,將獲得的利率為香港多數主要銀行平均利率的100倍,即0.0010%。另外,天星銀行亦為新客戶提供豐厚的優惠利率。開戶時存入HK$20,000及以下的資金,可享高達3.6%的利率。若客戶希望將儲蓄收益最大化,天星銀行存款戶口是一個絕佳選擇。

優點缺點
  • 列明的所有儲蓄利率均屬全港最高
  • 為存入戶口的首HK$20,000提供豐厚優惠
  • 平台亦提供定期存款及貸款服務
  • 將存款轉數至本地銀行後才能提現
  • 戶口僅支援美元及人民幣兩種外幣
優惠 從2021年1月1日開始,開立天星銀行存款戶口的新客戶首次存入HK$20,000,可獲得3.6%的優惠利率。
優點及缺點
優點:
  • 列明的所有儲蓄利率均屬全港最高
  • 為存入戶口的首HK$20,000提供豐厚優惠
  • 平台亦提供定期存款及貸款服務
缺點:
  • 將存款轉數至本地銀行後才能提現
  • 戶口僅支援美元及人民幣兩種外幣
  • 優惠 從2021年1月1日開始,開立天星銀行存款戶口的新客戶首次存入HK$20,000,可獲得3.6%的優惠利率。

天星銀行存款戶口的過人之處

相較競爭對手,天星銀行存款戶口的優勢在於較高的儲蓄利率。其不僅優惠利率極高,甚至是適用於不同入息人士的正常儲蓄利率,以及外幣儲蓄利率,亦是如此。視乎戶口結餘多少,天星銀行提供的利率水平差異較大,但所有這些利率都顯著高於競爭對手。

另外,天星銀行似乎對中低入息水平的客戶更有利。舉例而言,HK$1,000,000以下的存款可獲得最佳非優惠期利率,比香港所有實體銀行的平均值高出500倍。而雖然天星銀行支援的外幣種類有限,但美元和人民幣的儲蓄利率遠高於大多數競爭者。

不過,由於天星銀行客戶僅能透過網上及流動電話使用理財服務,因此在便利性方面稍有不足。天星銀行不提供支票戶口或提款卡服務,因此客戶必須將天星銀行存款戶口與另一間本地銀行的支票戶口進行整合,才能提取現金。同樣地,客戶需要透過網絡或致電天星客戶支援熱線才能獲得額外協助。但如果閣下不介意這些問題,天星銀行存款戶口能提供獨一無二的銀行服務,最大限度地幫助閣下增加存款。

天星銀行存款戶口利率

天星銀行港幣儲蓄利率
存款額利率
首HK$20,0003.60%
HK$20,000以上至HK$1,000,0000.50%
HK$1,000,000以上0.10%
天星銀行港幣存款利率
存款額利率
首HK$20,0003.60%
HK$20,000以上至HK$1,000,0000.50%
HK$1,000,000以上0.10%
天星銀行外幣利率
外幣利率
美元(不限存款額)0.10%
人民幣(不限存款額)0.25%
天星銀行外幣利率
外幣利率
美元(不限存款額)0.10%
人民幣(不限存款額)0.25%

天星存款戶口詳情及要求

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求18歲
身份/住址證明有效的香港身份證,及香港永久住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低結餘要求HK$0
最低結餘服務費N/A

天星銀行存款戶口與其他戶口之比較

參閱天星銀行存款戶口與香港其他儲蓄戶口的比較分析,以了解每款戶口的獨特之處。我們將一一對比這些戶口,幫助閣下找到最佳選擇。

天星銀行存款戶口 vs. livi Bank liviSave戶口

livi bank虛擬銀行liviSave

Consider this if 閣下入息較高,且對流動理財感興趣。

livi Bank liviSave戶口及天星銀行存款戶口為HK$500,000以下的存款提供了相似的利率,但對於HK$500,000至HK$1,000,000的存款區間,天星銀行的利率較高,為0.50%。因此,若閣下入息較高,希望透過利息獲得最大收益,天星銀行相較livi Bank應該是更好的選擇。

不過,除了儲蓄利率的差異,兩款戶口在各方面都非常相似。livi Bank的liviSave及天星銀行存款戶口均要求客戶擁有其他銀行的戶口,以方便提款及使用其他銀行功能。livi Bank為liviSave客戶免費提供一張Debit Mastercard用於簽賬,但使用此卡提取現金則會引致相應的交易費用。

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求18歲
身份/住址證明
  • 閣下須為香港居民,持有香港智能身份證、香港住址及香港流動電話號碼
  • 現時須身處香港
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低結餘要求HK$0
最低結餘服務費N/A
  • 首HK$50,000或以下:1.00%
  • HK$50,000以上至HK$500,000:0.50%
  • HK$500,000以上:0.10%

天星存款戶口 vs. ZA活期Go戶口

ZA活期Go

Consider this if 閣下想擁有儲蓄利率持續較高的虛擬銀行戶口。

ZA活期Go戶口同天星銀行存款戶口一樣,都非常適合打算開立虛擬儲蓄戶口的客戶。不過,兩者的利率方案有所不同。天星銀行為HK$20,000及以下的存款提供3.60%的優惠利率,ZA Bank則為HK$500,000及以下的所有存款提供1%的利率,相較天星銀行的利率高出一倍有多。而對於存款額超過HK$1,000,000的客戶而言,天星銀行的儲蓄利率比ZA高出10倍。總括而言,ZA活期Go戶口可能更適合中低入息水平的客戶。

在便利性方面,兩款戶口都不算理想。客戶均需要持有其他銀行的戶口,以使用支票功能及滿足投資需求。不過,ZA活期Go戶口為客戶提供一張扣賬卡,並擁有龐大的自動櫃員機網絡,令客戶能夠方便地免費提取現金。天星銀行客戶則需要使用其他銀行卡來完成線下簽賬及提款,但在港幣儲蓄之外,亦能存入美元及人民幣。

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求18歲
身份/住址證明有效的香港身份證及香港永久住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低結餘要求HK$0
最低結餘服務費N/A
  • HK$500,000及以下:1.000%
  • HK$500,000以上:0.010%

天星銀行存款戶口 vs. 信銀國際inMotion戶口

信銀國際inMotion

Consider this if 閣下看重流動理財服務,以及信銀國際作為銀通主要成員的良好聲譽。

信銀國際inMotion戶口最適合看重傳統銀行服務、又希望完全透過流動平台理財的客戶。相較天星銀行存款戶口,信銀國際inMotion涵蓋了儲蓄及定期存款之外的一些功能,例如投資、支票/往來戶口,甚至還提供各種推廣獎賞。但另一方面,天星存款戶口的主要優勢是較高的利率,該特點與ZA Bank、livi Bank等其他虛擬銀行相似。若相較多元理財服務,閣下更希望賺取高利息,那麼天星銀行可能是更適合之選。但是,若閣下非常重視品牌聲譽,並希望獲得更全面的理財體驗,不妨首選信銀國際inMotion戶口。

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求18歲
身份/住址證明有效的香港身份證,及香港永久住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低結餘要求HK$0
最低結餘服務費N/A
  • 存款額低於HK$4,999.99:每年0.0000%
  • 存款額高於HK$5,000:每年0.0010%

天星存款戶口 vs. 滙豐One戶口

中銀港元活期儲蓄賬戶

Consider this if 閣下看重流動理財服務,以及滙豐作為易通財主要成員的聲譽。

滙豐One戶口是一個相當不錯的流動銀行平台,由香港最大銀行之一的滙豐銀行搭建。相較天星銀行存款戶口,雖然滙豐客戶無法賺取極高的儲蓄利率,但卻能享受更全面的銀行服務。舉例而言,滙豐One戶口的客戶僅需進行一次申請,即可開立支票/往來戶口、儲蓄戶口、投資戶口,甚至是兒童儲蓄戶口。另外,客戶更可受益於滙豐數量龐大的自動櫃員機及遍佈全港的分行網絡,輕鬆解決所有即時理財需求。滙豐的流動應用程式亦能根據客戶需要解決問題、提供支援。

若客戶更看重上述的種種優勢,而非賺取高額儲蓄利息的機會,就應該選擇滙豐的服務。而對於希望賺取更多收益的客戶而言,天星銀行存款戶口可能是更適合的選擇。

詳情及要求
最低年齡要求
  • 客戶開立名下戶口須滿18歲
  • 11-17歲的客戶可在家長或監護人陪同下申請戶口
身份/住址證明
  • 香港公民:香港身份證及住址證明
  • 香港非永久性居民:香港身份證或有效旅行證件(例如護照),以及現時住址證明
  • 非香港居民:有效旅行證件及現時住址證明
最低開戶存款額HK$0
最低結餘要求HK$0
最低結餘服務費N/A
  • 存款額低於HK$5,000:0.000%
  • 存款額高於HK$5,000:0.0010%
黄奭彤

黄奭彤 (Seaton Huang) is a Junior Research Analyst covering consumer finance products in Hong Kong. As an alumnus of Columbia University (M.A., 2020), Northeastern University (B.A., 2019), and a former Fulbright Fellow at Shaanxi Normal University (2018), he has significant academic and analytical expertise in the economic and political terrains of China, Hong Kong, and Asia Pacific. His past research has concerned the socioeconomic effects of mobile payment systems in China and the efficacy of China's Belt and Road Initiative in Central Asia, among other poignant topics in contemporary Asia.