How to Choose a Digital Wallet in Hong Kong 2021

What is a Digital Wallet?

Digital wallets are an easy and secure way to transfer money, make payments to merchants, and manage your personal finances. Digital wallets safely store payment information and passwords and allow you to quickly complete purchases, store funds, and track payment histories. There are nine prominent digital wallets in Hong Kong and each has its own unique benefits and functions.

More and more merchants are accepting mobile payment methods, with over 50,000 stores in Hong Kong accepting AlipayHK alone. This guide explains the features and benefits of different digital wallets and lists several credit cards that earn boosted rewards when you use them through mobile pay.

Contents:

What are the Best Digital Wallets in Hong Kong?

Finding the best digital wallet for you depends on your spending habits and preferences. Each digital wallet offers its own unique feature — some wallets can make cross-border payments, others allow P2P payments and link to credit cards. Our analysts have reviewed the top digital wallets for different kinds of consumers.

PayMe: Seamlessly transfer money and pay at thousands of merchants

PayMe allows consumers to seamlessly share bills with friends, pay businesses and keep track of expenses with a user-friendly app. PayMe is operated by HSBC, but you don’t need a banking relationship to use it. You can easily top up your PayMe account with a credit card or bank account. PayMe has a network of over 2 million users in Hong Kong and thousands of merchants accept payments through the service, making it a great choice for splitting costs with friends and conveniently transacting with vendors in Hong Kong.

AlipayHK: Over 50,000 merchants and cross-border bill pay

AlipayHK is a good choice for consumers looking for bill pay, cross-border transactions and a massive network of merchants. With over 50,000 participating merchants including fast food chains, convenience stores, and department stores, AlipayHK lets you make secure payments in both Hong Kong and mainland China across your entire budget.

TaoBao and TMall shoppers can enjoy a handling fee waiver by spending with the AlipayHK wallet. Finally, users can settle a wide range of bills on their phones via the AlipayHK app. You can top up your AlipayHK account with your bank account or with cash at 7-11, McDonalds, ParkNShop stores and other merchants.

WeChat Pay HK: Settle mainland China bills with HKD

WeChat Pay HK’s standout feature is that users can settle bills in mainland China with the Hong Kong dollar. You can make P2P, online and merchant payments with WeChat Pay HK. Eligible mainland China vendors include Didi Chuxing, Meituan-Dianping and more, and transactions are converted from RMB to HKD automatically.

BoC Pay: Make P2P transfers and enjoy merchant discounts and promotions

BoC Pay users can pay bills, make P2P transfers and pay merchants who accept UnionPay QR code, all without a mainland China bank account. BoC Pay offers a number of discounts and promotions with popular Hong Kong merchants, and several BOC credit cards offer boosted rewards for spending with mobile pay.

Tap & Go: The first digital wallet with Mastercard and UnionPay functionalities

Tap & Go is the first mobile wallet to incorporate both UnionPay and Mastercard payment methods in one simple app. You can use Tap & Go with thousands of merchants accepting Apple Pay, UnionPay and Google Pay in Hong Kong, mainland China and overseas. Anyone over 11 years old with a Hong Kong, Macau or mainland China phone number can register. Top up your Tap & Go account with FWD, Bank of China, HSBC and Hang Seng bank accounts as well as with cash at numerous merchants.

Apple Pay: Link up to 8 credit cards and protect your information

Apple Pay users can link up to 8 credit and debit cards to their wallet and pay at more than 10,000 grocery stores, restaurants and retailers in Hong Kong. You can also check your Octopus AAVS balance and top up with your preferred credit or debit card with no fee. Apple is renowned for its measures to protect your privacy. When you make a purchase, Apple Pay generates a device-specific number and a unique transaction code so your card number is never stored on your device and your information isn’t shared with merchants.

TNG: Transfer money, pay local merchants and easily exchange foreign currency

TNG is a popular digital wallet for P2P transfers and is accepted by thousands of local retailers. It also allows you to easily exchange foreign currencies and transfer money to the UK and Singapore. TNG is also accepted by a number of taxi companies in Hong Kong, making it convenient for local commuters.

UnionPay: Enjoy mobile pay with over 29 million merchants in mainland China

UnionPay users can enjoy mobile pay with over 29 million merchants in the mainland and is accepted with retailers in 33 countries and regions outside of China. This digital wallet is a one-stop app for P2P transfer, online and brick-and-mortar merchants, bill pay and more.

O! ePay: Convenient Octopus top up and P2P payments

O! ePay allows you to easily top up your Octopus for yourself, friends and family and more in an instant. Users can shop online, make P2P payments and scan accepting merchants’ QR code to easily handle their personal finances.

Compare Digital Wallet Features

Digital WalletTop upLink credit cardGlobal money transferBill pay
PayMe-
AlipayHK
WeChat Pay HK
BoC Pay-
Tap & Go---
Apple Pay---
TNG
UnionPay--
O! ePay-

Credit Cards and Digital Wallets

Binding Your Credit Card to a Digital Wallet

Binding your credit card to a digital wallet can be a convenient way to reduce clutter, avoid losing a credit card and expedite your transactions. What’s more, several digital wallets offer an extra layer of security by not sharing your card information with merchants and with fraud prevention systems.

Several credit cards offer boosted rewards when you use them for mobile pay. Hang Seng MPOWER Card offers consumers a 5% Cash Dollars rebate on mobile payments for local dining, entertainment, and fashion expenses. The BOC i-card’s 0.067 miles per HK$1 general spend is boosted to 0.667 for mobile transactions. Similarly, CCB eye Platinum Card offers am impressive 0.333 miles per HK$1 spend with mobile pay, boosted to 0.469 overseas.

To learn more about the rewards and promotions of different credit cards, read our overview of the most competitive credit cards in Hong Kong.

Frequently Asked Questions

Digital wallets offer various security measures including two-factor authentication methods and personalized security settings. When you lose a regular wallet, your cash and credit cards are immediately at risk of being stolen. However, biometric locks and passwords on phones make it more difficult to access your personal information, and you can lock your digital wallet remotely. These measures can make a digital wallet even safer than traditional payment methods.

Several mobile wallets can be used across the border, including WeChat Pay HK and Alipay HK. A UnionPay mobile wallet can be used to transact with millions of mainland China merchants.

You can enjoy a number of discounts and rebates with select merchants with a digital wallet. Using your digital wallet to spend with these vendors will typically result in a rebate directly to your app. Some wallets offer time-limited welcome offers such as BoC Pay, AlipayHK and O! ePay.

Applying for a digital wallet is relatively simple and does not have many requirements. Most wallets only require some basic personal information, a Hong Kong phone number, and an email address. Digital wallets affiliated with a bank do not require you to have an account with that bank. After determining which digital wallet best meets your needs, you can find more information on the company website and apply for an account online or on your phone.

Kevin Schwartz

Kevin is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion specialising in credit cards in Hong Kong. He previously worked for the U.S. Congress as a Legislative Fellow as well as in international education in Beijing. He holds a B.A. in International Studies and Chinese from the College of the Holy Cross and received multiple scholarships for Chinese language studies, including the State Department Critical Language Scholarship.

如何挑選香港電子錢包2021

電子錢包是什麼?

電子錢包可助您輕鬆安全地轉帳、向商戶付款以及管理個人財務。此外,還能讓您安心存儲付款資料及密碼,並快速完成支付、存儲資金以及追蹤付款記錄。香港有九款主流電子錢包,各有其獨特優勢和功能。

越來越多的商戶開始接受流動支付方式。例如,已有超過50,000間店鋪接受AlipayHK 。以下指引介紹了各款電子錢包的特點及優勢,並列出了幾款可透過流動支付賺取升級獎賞的信用卡。

目錄:

香港最佳電子錢包有哪些?

哪款電子錢包最優取決於您的消費習慣及喜好。每款電子錢包均有其特色。比如,一些錢包支持跨境支付,而另一些則支援P2P轉賬或關聯信用卡。我們的分析師詳細分析了適合不同消費者的熱門電子錢包。

PayMe:瞬間過數及可於數千間商戶消費

PayMe 允許消費者透過其便捷簡單的應用程式與朋友輕鬆分拆賬單,向商店付款以及保留消費記錄。PayMe 由滙豐銀行運營,但您不需要擁有其戶口才能使用。您可輕鬆使用信用卡或銀行戶口給PayMe充值。PayMe在香港擁有200萬用戶網絡,且有數千間商戶支援該付款方式。因此,對於需要與朋友分拆賬單以及希望向商戶輕鬆付款的消費者,這款錢包是極佳選擇。

AlipayHK:覆蓋超50,000 間商戶,支援通跨境付款

AlipayHK對於希望使用電子錢包進行繳費、跨境付款、於大量商戶消費的消費者最為適合。AlipayHK覆蓋超過50,000間商戶,包括快餐連鎖店、便利店以及百貨商店,可讓您於香港及中國內地安全消費。

使用AlipayHK錢包於淘寶和天貓平台購物更可豁免手續費。另外,用戶可透過手機AlipayHK應用程式繳付各種費用。您可使用銀行戶口為AlipayHK充值,還可於7-11、麥當勞、百佳超市等商戶使用現金充值。

WeChat Pay HK:以港幣支付中國內地費用

WeChat Pay HK的過人之處在於其用戶可以港幣支付中國內地的費用。您還可以使用WeChat Pay HK支付P2P、網上及商戶開支。合資格的中國內地商戶包括滴滴出行和美團點評等,交易時會自動將人民幣轉換為港幣。

BoC Pay:進行P2P轉賬,享受商戶折扣及優惠

BoC Pay用戶毋須擁有內地的銀行戶口,即可繳交費用、進行P2P轉賬以及向支援銀聯二維碼的商戶輕鬆付款。

BoC Pay 還提供熱門香港商戶的多重折扣及優惠,此外,幾款中銀信用卡更為流動支付方式之簽賬提供升級獎賞。

「拍住賞」:首個Mastercard及銀聯功能二合一電子錢包

「拍住賞」是全港首個同時支援Mastercard及銀聯流動支付服務的流動錢包,其app操作簡單。您可於全港數千間支援Apple Pay、雲閃付及Google Pay的商戶使用「拍住賞」。申請人年滿11歲即可用香港、澳門或中國內地電話號碼申請錢包。您可用富衛、中國銀行、滙豐銀行及恒生銀行戶口為「拍住賞」充值,還可於眾多商戶使用現金充值。

Apple Pay:可關聯多達8張信用卡,保障個人私隱

Apple Pay用戶可將至多8張信用卡及扣賬卡關聯至錢包,該錢包可用於在香港10,000多間雜貨店、食肆及零售店鋪的簽賬。此外,您還能夠隨時查看八達通餘額,以常用的信用卡或扣帳卡進行增值。Apple的私隱保障技術亦為人稱道。在您購物時,Apple Pay 會使用一個特定的裝置號碼及獨有的交易編碼。所以,您的卡號不會儲存在您的裝置上。而在付款時,Apple 亦不會向商戶披露您的個人資料。

TNG:轉賬、支付香港商戶簽賬、輕鬆兌換外幣

TNG是一款熱門的P2P轉賬電子錢包,香港上千間零售店鋪支援此種付款方式。它允許您輕鬆兌換外币及轉賬至英國和新加坡。另外,香港多家士公司也支援TNG錢包付款,對本地通勤人士十分便利1。

雲閃付:可於超過2900萬間中國內地商戶使用流動支付

雲閃付用戶可在超過2900萬間中國內地商戶以流動支付方式付款,此外中國以外也有33個國家及地區的零售店鋪支援此款付款方式。這個電子錢包為一站式應用程式,涵蓋P2P轉賬、網上及實體店鋪消費及繳交賬單等服務。

O! ePay:隨時隨地增值八達通及進行P2P轉賬

有了O! ePay,您即可隨時隨地為自己、朋友及家人的八達通進行增值,還可用於網上購物、進行P2P轉賬以及掃描商戶的QR Code,輕鬆管理個人財務。

比對電子錢包的特點

電子錢包增值關聯信用卡全球轉賬繳交賬單
PayMe-
AlipayHK
WeChat Pay HK
BoC Pay-
「拍住賞」---
Apple Pay---
TNG
雲閃付--
O! ePay-

信用卡和電子錢包

將信用卡綁定至電子錢包

將信用卡綁定至電子錢包是為一個便捷操作,可避免信用卡丟失並加快付款流程。而且,幾款電子錢包附有額外安全保障,設有防欺詐機制,不會將您的信用卡資料透露給商戶。

一些信用卡針對流動支付方式提供升級獎賞。恒生MPOWER卡對以流動支付方式結算的香港餐飲、消閒及服裝鞋履簽賬提供5% Cash Dollars回贈。中銀i-card一般消費每簽賬HK$1可獲取0.067里數獎賞,流動支付簽賬則提升至0.667 里數。同樣地,建行(亞洲)eye白金卡以流動方式支付的每HK$1簽賬可享高達0.333里數,而此種方式的海外簽賬更提升至 0.469 里數。

欲想了解更多信用卡獎賞及優惠資訊,請參閱我們對於 香港最具競爭力信用卡的評論。

常見問題解答

電子錢包設有多重安全保障機制,包括雙重認證及個人化安全設定。在您丟失實體錢包後,您的現金和信用卡即刻面臨被盜風險。然而,手機的生物認證及密碼功能可防止您的個人私隱被人竊取,您還可以遠程終止您的電子錢包服務。這些措施讓電子錢包比傳統付款方式更為安全。

幾款電子錢包都支援跨境支付,如WeChat Pay HK和Alipay HK。使用雲閃付流動錢包可於數百萬間中國內地商戶進行交易。

憑電子錢包,您可以享受特選商戶多重折扣和回贈。使用電子錢包在這些商戶消費一般可獲享回贈,而這些回贈會直接存入您的應用程式。一些錢包還提供限時迎新優惠,如BoC Pay、AlipayHK 及O! ePay。

申請電子錢包步驟簡單,且要求不高。申請大多數電子錢包時僅需提供基本個人資料、香港電話號碼及電郵地址。銀行推出的電子錢包也不要求用戶開立該行戶口。在確定好哪款錢包最適合自己後,您可從相關公司網站了解更多資訊,透過網站或電話開通電子錢包。

Kevin Schwartz

Kevin is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion specialising in credit cards in Hong Kong. He previously worked for the U.S. Congress as a Legislative Fellow as well as in international education in Beijing. He holds a B.A. in International Studies and Chinese from the College of the Holy Cross and received multiple scholarships for Chinese language studies, including the State Department Critical Language Scholarship.