Credit Cards

Could Learning to Cook Actually Be More Expensive Than Take Out?

It’s commonly believed that cooking at home can save money compared to dining out. However, this may not be the case in Hong Kong, especially for those attempting to cook for the first time.

Many people tend to think that cooking at home is always cheaper than eating out. For example, a study by Priceonomics reported that on average, it's 5x more expensive to order delivery from a restaurant than to cook at home. However, since estimates like these often exclude the cost of set-up, groceries and food waste, cooking at home may actually be more expensive than it would seem. Let’s take a closer look at the true costs of home cooking, compared to those associated with eating out.

Costs of Getting Started as a Home Cook

On top of having to buy fresh ingredients, you also need to purchase the proper equipment to prepare and cook your meal. Kitchen experts (like Bon Appetit) agree on a list of 10-20 basic tools which are absolutely necessary to set up your kitchen. Even if you purchase less expensive essentials at IKEA, the total cost of basic cooking utensils can add up to about HK$1,000. Once you add in the cost of more expensive appliances like blenders, food processors, slow cookers and rice cookers, you may find that your expenses have far exceeded what you first anticipated.

Table showing the total cost of kitchen basics from IKEA

Unused Groceries Can Quickly Add Up

Even after you've purchased everything you need to get started cooking, the cost of buying your own groceries may actually be higher than you expect. Since some ingredients can only be purchased in larger than what you actually need, so you may end up paying for food you may never use. And–unless you're committed to cooking regularly–buying the ingredients for your favourite dishes can wind up costing more than takeout because of the variety of items needed.

Table comparing the total cost of ingredients to just ordering braised beef noodle soup at Sun Kau Kee Noodle Shop

Another concern when buying groceries is storage space. Having extra room is a luxury, especially in Hong Kong where the average person has just 140 square feet of living space, making it one of the most crowded places in the world. Because of this tight living space, you may just not have enough square footage in your kitchen to store these ingredients.

New Cooks Create More Waste

Food waste, or the disposal of unconsumed food, is already a significant issue in Hong Kong. According to the statistics published by the Environmental Protection Department, Hong Kongers throw away about 3,600 tonnes of food waste every day–two-thirds of which comes from households. In fact, the Hong Kong Environmental Bureau has noted that Hong Kong has a larger domestic waste load than other Asian cities with similar levels of development like Tokyo, Seoul and Taipei.

New chefs in particular contribute more than their fair share of food waste. Research has shown that cooking experience increases accuracy in portion control. As such, beginners are more likely to over-buy and underutilise their groceries. For example, if you're planning on cooking one meal's worth of braised beef noodles, you'll likely still need to pay for more ingredients than you'll ultimately use. If you don't repurpose these extra ingredients for future meals, you could end up losing HK$34+ just in terms of food waste.

Table displaying the total cost of wasting leftover fresh ingredients

Cooking at Home Also Costs Time

For some, cooking can be truly enjoyable, although you need to consider the value of your time. The average monthly income is HK$27k, with approximately 200 hours worked per month. This means that one hour is equal to approximately HK$135 in value. The 2+ hours many Hong Kongers spend on meal-planning, shopping, prepping, cooking and then cleaning up is actually worth about HK$360. This loss only adds on to the cost of groceries and kitchen utensils.

Table comparing the time spent getting takeout and cooking at home

As you can see, cooking at home has many more steps and is a much larger time commitment. When the value of your time is factored in, it's easy to see how spending time cooking at home is actually rather expensive compared to a quick takeout meal.

Table showing the cost of time each meal takes to cook

Finally, Hong Kong is a convenient, fast-paced city. Residential apartments are strategically built in close proximity to central locations. Unlimited dining options are available at your doorstep. Depending on where you live, it could take less than 15 minutes door-to-door to get take away, even including time spent waiting for your food.

Conclusion: What's Cooking Worth to You?

If you are contemplating becoming a home cook to save money, you may want to think twice if you are not dedicated to make this a long-term commitment. The cost of kitchen items, food waste, and lost time can all add up. If you’re a busy professional with limited time and a restricted budget, the convenience and variety of food options available at a range of prices are endless. There are even specific dining cards which offer boosted rewards on your restaurant spend.

Jacob Weiss

Jacob is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion, focusing on credit cards and other consumer financial products. Previously, he covered hedge funds and long only products for Cambridge Associates. He holds a B.S. in Finance from the University of Maryland and has passed Level 1 of the CFA exam.

信用卡

學煮飯比叫外賣花費更高?

人們普遍認為在家煮飯比外出就餐更省錢,但在香港未必如此,尤其是對於煮飯新手而言。

許多人會以為在家煮飯一定比外出用餐更便宜。例如,一份Priceonomics的研究報告指出,平均而言,從餐廳叫外賣比在家煮飯貴5倍。但是,由於此類估算通常不包括廚房用具、食材及廚餘成本,在家下廚實際上可能比表面上看來更貴。我們來仔細算一算在家下廚的真實成本,並與外出用餐相比較。

在家煮飯的啟動成本

除了需要購買新鮮食材之外,您亦要購買合適的設備來備餐。廚房專家(例如 Bon Appetit)列明了10至20種廚房裡必不可少的基本工具。即使您可以在IKEA宜家購買較便宜的必須品,基本廚房用品的總成本相加亦將達到HK$1,000左右。如果再加上攪拌機、食物處理機、慢燉鍋、電飯煲等較昂貴的電器,您可能會發現此花費遠遠超過您的預期。

以宜家價錢計算的廚房基本成本

廚房基本用具類別成本
鍋具: 3件平底鍋套裝、2件油炸鍋套裝、連蓋鍋HK$289.70
切割: 3件套刀、磨刀器、鉆板HK$195.00
碟和盤子:烤箱/大碟,2件餐盤HK$63.70
碗:混合碗(大)、混合碗(小)、湯勺HK$183.33
餐具:餐具套裝、木湯匙HK$47.80
配件:量杯、刨絲器、打蛋器、削皮刀、開罐刀、烤箱手套HK$217.00
儲物箱: 3件裝食物儲物箱HK$27.00
總成本1,023.40
價錢基於宜家網站所示的同類產品最低價版本

未使用的食材可能迅速累積

即使買好了煮飯所需要的用品,採購食材的成本亦可能會高過預期。因為某些食材只能以比實際需要更大的量購買,您可能不得不為永遠用不到的食材買單。而且,除非您下定決心經常下廚,否則為您最愛的菜餚購買食材可能比外賣花費更多,因為所需購買的食材種類繁多。

紅燒牛肉湯麵:材料成本與外賣價比較

材料成本
牛肩肉HK$28.5
蘿蔔HK$12.0
菜心HK$9.0
蛋麵HK$35.0
新鮮調味料:薑、乾蔥頭、大蒜HK$25.9
香草/香料:肉桂、小荳蔻、原粒丁香、八角、陳皮、月桂葉、白胡椒HK$170.5
調味品:油、冰糖、紹興酒、老抽、生抽、鹽HK$87.5
材料總成本HK$368.4
新九記粥麵外賣價HK$47.0
材料參考屢獲殊榮的美食博客《Woks of Life》的食譜;材料價格參考百佳網上商店或HKTVmall上(如百佳未有提供)最便宜的同類型商品;外賣價以新九記粥麵的例牌紅燒牛肉湯麵為準

購買食材帶來的另一個問題是儲物空間。擁有額外的空間是一件奢侈的事,尤其是在香港,人均生活空間只有140呎,令其成為世界上最擁擠的地方之一。因為生活空間有限,您的廚房可能沒有足夠的面積來存放這些食材。

新手廚師會製造更多浪費

處理廚餘,即未吃完的食物,已成為香港的一個嚴峻問題。環境保護署公佈的統計數據顯示,香港人每日丟棄的廚餘約為3,600噸,其中三分之二來自家庭。事實上,香港環境署曾指出,香港相較發展水平相似的其他亞洲城市(例如東京、首爾及台北),產生的生活垃圾數量更大

新手廚師製造的廚餘數量更是超出旁人。研究表明,烹飪經驗有助於提高控制食物分量的準確程度。因此,初學者更有可能過度購買且無法充分使用食材。舉例而言,如果您打算烹飪一餐分量的紅燒牛腩面,您購買的食材多於最終使用分量的可能性很大。若您不利用多出來的食材,單是廚餘方面,您就可能會損失HK$34以上。

紅燒牛肉麵食譜:潛在的新鮮食材浪費成本

新鮮原料購買價購買量使用量潛在浪費浪費成本
HK$10.9100克40克60克HK$6.5
乾蔥頭HK$10.0100克30克70克HK$7.0
大蒜HK$5.0100克20克80克HK$4.0
牛肩肉HK$29.9200克114克86克HK$12.9
菜心HK$9.0100克50克50克HK$4.5
總計HK$64.8600克254克346克HK$34.9
每種材料的份量以百佳網上商店或HKTVmall上可購買選項為準,浪費成本根據這些網站上顯示的每件成本計算,如前表中所示

在家烹飪的時間成本

對於某些人而言,烹飪是真正的享受,不過您需要考慮您的時間價值。在平均每月入息為HK$27,000、每月工作時間約為200小時的情況下,1小時的價值約為HK$135。許多香港人在計劃飯菜、購物、準備食材、烹飪及清理上所花的時間為2小時以上,實際價值約為HK$360。這是在食材及廚房用具成本之外的另一種損失。

預計時間的比較(外賣與煮食)

事項外賣在家煮食
決定餐廳/餐點5分鐘5分鐘
雜貨購物0分鐘60分鐘
收拾雜貨0分鐘5分鐘
取出設備/用品0分鐘5分鐘
食材準備0分鐘30分鐘
煮食時間0分鐘45分鐘
清潔碗碟5分鐘5分鐘
處理剩菜5分鐘5分鐘
總時間:15分鐘160分鐘

如您所見,在家煮飯步驟更多,需要的時間也更長。當您將時間價值計算在內時,很容易看到相較快捷的外賣食物,在家煮飯所需要的時間花費其實相當昂貴。

估計在家煮食每餐時間成本
平均時間成本每小時HK$135
在家煮食時間(準備、烹飪、清潔)120分鐘
每餐時間成本HK $ 270

最後,香港是一個快節奏的便利城市。住宅樓宇通常建造於靠近中心地區的關鍵位置,讓您在家門口就能享受到豐富的餐飲選擇。視乎您居住的地方,即使包括等待食物的時間,上門購買外賣食物只需要花不到15分鐘的時間。

結論:煮飯對您價值何在?

如果您正在考慮在家烹飪以節省開支,但不能下定決心付出長期努力,您可能要三思而後行。廚房用品、廚餘及時間的成本都會增加。如果您是忙碌的專業人士,時間及預算都有限,以不同的價格購買便利、多元化餐飲的選擇是無限的。甚至有一些專門的餐飲信用卡,可為您的餐廳消費提供優厚獎賞。

Kevin Schwartz

Kevin is a Junior Research Analyst at ValueChampion specialising in credit cards in Hong Kong. He previously worked for the U.S. Congress as a Legislative Fellow as well as in international education in Beijing. He holds a B.A. in International Studies and Chinese from the College of the Holy Cross and received multiple scholarships for Chinese language studies, including the State Department Critical Language Scholarship.